Get Your Free Audiobook

After 30 days, Audible is ₹199/mo. Cancel anytime.

OR

Publisher's Summary

All they want for Christmas is a new home.

Number five Kitchener Avenue heralds the start of a new life for the Hope family. For pregnant Miriam, it is a warm, safe environment to bring up her child. For her sister, 14-year-old Barbara, it means independence...and boys. And for Fred, it means the security he craves for his young family.

In the lead up to Christmas, the Hopes settle in, and start to make happy memories in their new home. But World War II is round the corner, and this carefree life can't last.

Soon the family are split up. Bar, wanting to do her bit for the war effort, joins the ATS, while Miriam and her children are evacuated to the countryside and away from her husband.

As the country is thrown into turmoil, can the Hope family come back together and find the happiness they crave?

For fans of Katie Flynn and Sheila Jeffries, The Hope Family Christmas is a heart-warming festive novel from the Queen of family saga, and author of The Winter Baby and The Gingerbread Girl, Sheila Newberry.

©2019 Sheila Newberry (P)2019 Bonnier Books UK

Critic Reviews

"I have long been a fan of Sheila Newberry's novels. I love their wonderful warmth and charm." (Maureen Lee, best-selling author of The Seven Streets of Liverpool)
 

"Reading a Sheila Newberry book is like having dinner with your mother in her warm and cosy kitchen. You can feel the love and care put into every juicy morsel." (Diane Allen, bestselling author of For the Sake of Her Family)

What listeners say about A Winter Hope

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Idadown
  • 01-10-20

A very family view of the war and their lives.

I enjoyed this book as introduction to all the characters was at a steady rate and I could keep up with who was who. The charachters were interesting and a mix of ages from children to grannies. I found it very interesting feeling what life was like then. Had to keep reading and found that after a slow start it became very interesting and I could not stop listerning. I enjoyed it very much.