Get Your Free Audiobook

Broken Music

Written by: Marjorie Eccles
Narrated by: Gordon Griffin
Length: 11 hrs and 13 mins

After 30 days, Audible is ₹199/mo. Cancel anytime.


Publisher's Summary

It is 1919, and Great Britain is still struggling to its feet after the First World War. Progress is slow, even in quiet spots like the village of Broughton Underhill. But moving on is impossible when former police sergeant Herbert Reardon returns to the village, determined to finally find out what happened the night that his daughter was found drowned. However, as Reardon begins to investigate, it becomes clear that secrets still abound.

When Edith Huckaby, a maid from Oaklands Park, is found murdered in exactly the same spot, Reardon is convinced that the two cases are linked. As Reardon tries to discover the truth, his suspects and witnesses are painstakingly trying to rebuild their lives, in a world that has been changed forever.

©2009 Marjorie Eccles (P)2010 Soundings

What members say

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Lilania Kershaw
  • 15-01-17

Good but slow

There is a lot of "background" story, which makes it frustrating, as it feels like you're not getting to the actual story. Also a lot of flashbacks.