Get Your Free Audiobook

After 30 days, Audible is ₹199/mo. Cancel anytime.

OR

Publisher's Summary

Glasgow, 1932. When the son-in-law of one of the city’s wealthiest shipbuilders is found floating in the River Clyde with his throat cut, it falls to Inspector Jimmy Dreghorn to lead the murder case - despite sharing a troubled history with the victim’s widow, Isla Lockhart. 

From the flying fists and flashing blades of Glasgow’s gangland underworld, to the backstabbing upper echelons of government and big business, Dreghorn and his partner ‘Bonnie’ Archie McDaid will have to dig deep into Glasgow society to find out who wanted the man dead, and why. 

All the while, a sadistic murderer stalks the post-war city leaving a trail of dead bodies in their wake. As the case deepens, will Dreghorn find the killer - or lose his own life in the process? 

Edge of the Grave by Robbie Morrison is a dark historical crime novel set in Glasgow, 1932. A city still recovering from the Great War, split by religious division and swarming with razor gangs. For fans of William McIlvanney’s Laidlaw, Denise Mina and Philip Kerr. 

©2021 Robbie Morrison (P)2021 Macmillan Publishers International

What listeners say about Edge of the Grave

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Whispera
  • 15-06-21

Very good detective novel

I've been interested in reading about Glasgow, mostly thru crime novels and mostly that take place during very hard times in the past. I love thei Scottish quirky manner of speech, which is very melodic to me at times and lovely just to listen to. It takes me far away to another land, another time, another culture. Angus King is my favorite narrator. Hope to have more of this series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jackie
  • 15-03-21

Really enjoyable and Authentic

I have totally been absorbed in this book - although set in the 1930’s the problems faced by the police then easily transfer to modern times thus proving nothing is new. The characterisations and the ‘air’ of 1930’s poverty are excellent. A big shoutout to Angus King whose storytelling and narration was excellent

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Margaret S Macleod
  • 08-03-21

First World War

Really loved this book so real and sad .How war is a terrible thing the story was really good couldn’t stop listening to it The Narration was brilliant