Get Your Free Audiobook

After 30 days, Audible is ₹199/mo. Cancel anytime.

OR

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Jane Austen and Charlotte Brontë, debut author Julie Klassen delivers a compelling Regency Era novel brimming with authentic period details, vibrant characters, and enthralling plot twists. Banished from hearth and home, a vicar's 20-year-old daughter pays dearly for a single lapse in judgment. To avoid the scorn of local villagers, Charlotte Lamb wends her way to the forbidding Milkweed Manor on the outskirts of London. Concealing her identity, she finds refuge within the dank confines of this mysterious bastion of old secrets and new life. She soon encounters a former suitor, harboring secrets of his own. Firmly relying on God's strength, both resolve to protect their loved ones. But neither realizes the level of self-sacrifice this will require.
©2007 Julie Klassen (P)2008 Recorded Books,LLC

What listeners say about Lady of Milkweed Manor

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Wendy
  • 09-02-11

PART MISSING!!

I hoped that since the previous review was clear back in April of 2010 this missing part would be fixed but alas it was not. It is a disappointment. It is such a good story and good narration. I hope audible will make amends for this.

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Judith
  • 25-03-10

Missing portion

I liked the book and the narrator very much. However, the recording I got was missing part of chapter 28 through Chapter 30. I don't know if this has been fixed yet. The original recording is supposed to be 12 hr. and 25 minutes. This one was 11 hr. and 48 minutes.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Carrie
  • 18-02-11

Excellent Listen

Great narrator, excellent characterization and an interesting storyline. Easy listen. I believe this was Ms. Klassen's debut book. I enjoyed this very much. I can see where some readers might be put off by some of the topics covered in this book, perhaps those who have never born and nursed a child. Issues of adoption and loss were very touching and very well handled as was the topic of mania (in a minor character). Fresh voice and unafraid to tackle touch topics and embed them in a great historical fiction.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Carolyn Wheeler
  • 08-02-13

Missing 2nd half!

Any additional comments?

I was enjoying this story very much until I came to the second half of the download and it was the first half all over again. How do we get the correct second half of the story? I hate being left dangling like this!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Emily
  • 07-08-12

Heart filled story

What did you love best about Lady of Milkweed Manor?

I loved the characters.

What did you like best about this story?

The main character's hard decisions. It was interesting to think through them and wonder how I would've chosen.

What does Simon Prebble bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Using different types of British accents from all classes brings to life how very different the characters were in their life stations if you will.

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

Sad, I can't imagine being faced with such a decision!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CharB
  • 02-08-20

This Author Makes Me Cry

I enjoy listening to the works of several authors and follow them faithfully.

No one else makes me cry. Ms. Klassen weaves the elements of stories so well it’s a joy to listen to her work. My heart is always touched.

I love how she reveals God by the characters’ dependence on Him or by allowing us to watch His hand. She’s not preachy, but He is there.

Thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • mommyforlife!
  • 05-07-20

heart this!

This book allows you to fall in love with certain characters and have a feeling of such high regard for them as well! and of course on the flip side there are those that you dislike immensely. and then those in between and that make your emotions rollercoaster. great book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Nancy
  • 17-07-18

A lovely surprise

Not usually a fan of male narrators but Simon has such a sweet way and melodic voice I thoroughly enjoyed his talent. The story took me on such a journey that I did not expect. I was right there with them all the way, through the sadness, the outrage, the self discovery and the joy. Thank you Julie Klassen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Tara
  • 09-08-13

So depressing.....

What disappointed you about Lady of Milkweed Manor?

I have read all of Julie Klassen's books. This one was the worst. It was so depressing. But because I was determined to finish it out I kept going. The information the author collected was good. You could tell she put a lot of effort into gathering historical facts etc. It talks a lot about and describes breast feeding in great detail. My husband walked in while I was listening to a particular section on nursing and asked, "What the heck are you listening too?"

What do you think your next listen will be?

My next audiobook will be by Sarah M. Eden called Longing For Home.

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

I thought the narrator was fine. He had a nice strong voice. However, when he did the voices of female characters (which was a lot) it was almost comical. Definitely would have been better read by a woman.

What character would you cut from Lady of Milkweed Manor?

That's a dumb question. I wouldn't "cut" out characters. It wasn't the characters that were the issue.

Any additional comments?

I believe this was the first or one of the first books Julie Klassen wrote. Her writing style and stories have gotten better with time. She definitely does her research when she writes a historical romance, which I can appreciate, and am sure takes a lot of time and effort. I hate books that are depressing and this one topped the list.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kelley Praeuner
  • 19-03-21

Kelley

I have always enjoyed Julie Klassen’s stories and this is no exception. I listen to a lot of historical romances and so many are predictable and similar story lines to others but Ms. Klassen has written a story as I’d never heard before and the ending was so unknown until the very end and certainly not what I had predicted. Mr. Prebble did an excellent job narrating and I have never really cared for male narrators. I will listen to this one again in the future.