Get Your Free Audiobook

1 credit a month to use on any title to download and keep
Listen to anything from the Plus Catalogue—thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks
Download titles to your library and listen offline
Limited time offer: 2 months free trial
Last Man Standing cover art

Last Man Standing

Written by: Craig A. Falconer
Narrated by: Scott Aiello
Free with trial

₹199 per month after 30-day trial. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for ₹938.00

Buy Now for ₹938.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice.

Publisher's Summary

A pulsating sci-fi thriller from the author of the global blockbuster Not Alone—perfect for fans of Andy Weir and A.G. Riddle.

I wasn’t supposed to survive.

The station has been hit. Everyone around me is dead.

I have 11 hours of life support left and no way of contacting Earth.

I’m alone. I’m stranded. I’m desperate.

But I’m alive.

The more of the station I explore, the surer I get that this was no accident. Someone did this, and I don't think they're finished yet.

Making it home feels like an impossible task, but I'm not just fighting for my own life.

I have to protect my family—whatever it takes.

And as long as I’m breathing, this isn't over.

Because whoever did this almost pulled it off...but they made one big mistake: They left the wrong man standing....

©2022 Craig A. Falconer (P)2022 Recorded Books

What listeners say about Last Man Standing

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Joseph
  • Joseph
  • 25-10-22

Stopped a few hours in.

This was supremely disappointing. I love this kind of premise, I hated the execution.

I am profoundly uninterested in the protag's personal, past trauma. That is not the kind of obstacles I care about being placed to impede this hero's journey.

The cards are already stacked so hard against him, this past trauma, or the nerve damage in his right hand as a result of it just feels like pointless drama to heap on top of the already impossible task ahead of him. It detracts, for me.

He doesn't even seem to be all that brilliant. A few hours in and I'm not even one hundred percent sure what his speciality is, but being beaten by a computer interface he can't puzzle out how to operate...?

This just isn't the kind of protag I want to experience this kind of story vicariously through.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile image for BritMick
  • BritMick
  • 07-11-22

interesting start

In the first book of this series we meet Ray. a scientist who hopes to have discovered a new a better power supply. He is on the spacestation where he thinks due to safety issues he needs to prove his work. But finds that all is not as expected. Once he has done the final test. and returns to the main body of the station, he finds all the other people dead. And he must get back to earth to prove who is responsible for the attack and the one on earth.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Arthur H. Wolf
  • Arthur H. Wolf
  • 30-10-22

One for all

Interesting struggle by one over thinker who just wants to survive turns himself into savior. Proves his idea on energy product and his over worked effort saves him from certain death, yet finds the rest of his fellow spacers dead. The struggles turn into hunt for answers in his constant effort to live. The ending seems to be a sorry death but ... read to follow the twists to this struggle to know what happens, why, and then the who. WELL written with a few strange characters to entertain you.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile image for David Warner
  • David Warner
  • 05-02-23

Couldn't put it down

This is probably my favorite book by Craig Falconer so far. It is not an easy feat to put your main character in a solo situation without others to interact with and make it exciting and entertaining and this book does that. There is a point in the story where Ray does interact with some supporting cast and I'll just say that I immediately purchased the next book in the series with hopes that we'll see those characters appear again. Craig also runs a Facebook group fan page and I really appreciate his interactions with his fans and frequent updates on upcoming books.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Cyndi Lou from Kalamazoo
  • Cyndi Lou from Kalamazoo
  • 24-01-23

Enjoyed the book, good story, needs a bit of polishing

The story was excellent, good sci-fi and fun. I do wish the author had spent a bit more time refining the story. As there are too many cheesy, minor details. Those details make the first part of the story Sound a bit wimpy and I was tempted to stop listening. Glad I didn’t, as the story evolved into something good, with real struggles to overcome.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Dr
  • Dr
  • 23-01-23

Awesome

Great story with plenty of twists and turns, a top class main character, and an apocalypse :)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Larry M
  • Larry M
  • 16-01-23

Great story and narrator!

Fast paced ! Very quick listen. Reminded me of The Martian, I enjoyed the listen. Going to keep reading the series

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Amanda Strain
  • Amanda Strain
  • 17-12-22

No storytelling

There was little description of anything. When the Earth was on fire the author simply says the Earth looks like it’s on fire.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Troy smith
  • Troy smith
  • 08-12-22

author is clearly the feminine type

gets boring when the character is utterly so useless. what kind of man could be so mentally weak

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile image for TeeDub
  • TeeDub
  • 04-12-22

He’s no Weir or Scalzi

It was okay, but not great, not much depth or science. It’s first-person, almost stream-of-consciousness style was grating to me. The narrator presented it well, but it all sounded like a space traveler strung out on cocaine to me. I won’t be continuing the series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Cross.Smith
  • Cross.Smith
  • 03-01-23

Odd

So here's a guy working on a space station and he emerges from his laboratory to find everybody is dead, not only that but he sees out of the viewport that the entire surface of the earth has been decimated, billions dead including (as far as he's aware) his wife and small child and yet the chirpy narrator is telling the story as if he discribing a pleasent day out. He doesn't convey any sort of horror, grief, panic or dispair as you might expect under such circumstances. Odd.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Anna
  • Anna
  • 07-12-22

Die Hard in space

Brilliantly written this book kept me on edge from the first paragraph. Perfectly narrated by, in my opinion, the most talented voice actor on Audible, Scott Aiello, this book is heartstoppingly gripping. Unfortunately I now have to buy the consecutive books to assure Ray-Ray is indeed okay and that he saves the world. Get. This. Book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile image for AKAgadgetman
  • AKAgadgetman
  • 28-10-22

Non-stop action

This superb audiobook was slightly marred by the narration. Don't get me wrong, Scott did an outstanding job but the sound quality left a lot to be desired. It was too trebley(?) and shrill whether I used headphones or listened in my car. it was not a comfortable listen. I'm not sure if this was due to the microphone used or the recording settings or mix. I just hope it's corrected before book 2 - which I can't wait for.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Suzy GM
  • Suzy GM
  • 28-10-22

Good

I enjoyed the book and Scott Aiello is a good narrator but would have preferred R C Bray. Im intrigued enough to want to listen to the next book. I think the story is a bit far fetched but it’s fiction so let’s just run with it.