Get Your Free Audiobook

Murder by the Minster

Written by: Helen Cox
Narrated by: Eilidh Beaton
Length: 11 hrs and 21 mins

After 30 days, Audible is ₹199/mo. Cancel anytime.

OR

Publisher's Summary

A brand-new cosy mystery series set in the picturesque city of york. For fans of Faith Martin, Betty Rowlands and Lj Ross. 

Meet Kitt Hartley: librarian, trilby-wearer, Lady Grey tea-drinker, taker of no nonsense...detective?  

It's a perfectly normal day for Kitt Hartley at her job at the University of the Vale of York library, until Detective Inspector Halloran arrives at her desk to tell her that her best friend, Evie Bowes, is under suspicion of murder. Evie's ex-boyfriend Owen has been found dead - with a fountain pen stabbed through his heart - and all the evidence points to her. Kitt knows there is no way Evie could murder anyone - let alone Owen, whom she adored. 

Horrified that the police could have got it so wrong, Kitt decides there's only one thing to do: she's going to investigate Owen's murder herself. She's read hundreds of mystery novels - how hard can it be?  

With the help of her assistant Grace, and the occasional hindrance of the library's eccentric regulars, Kitt summons up all her investigative powers (absorbed over years of reading everything from Agatha Christie to Ian Rankin) and gets to work.   

She soon discovers that down the quaint streets and snickelways of York lie darker doings than she'd ever dreamed, but she needs to watch her step: the murderer is watching her. And they haven't finished killing yet.... 

©2019 Helen Cox (P)2019 Quercus Editions Limited

What members say

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Beatrice
  • 13-07-19

not for me

I really tried to like this book but I couldn't get into it and I kept falling asleep.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Denise Vilim
  • 28-02-20

I didn't give this one much of a chance...

The story might be good, but since I (a female) found myself feeling a bit put-out by the protagonist's blatant illogical and unreasonable conclusion-drawing, I decided to give the rest a miss.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Anon
  • 30-10-19

Poor narrator

Quite a good story spoiled by poor narration. Her voice is babyish, like a spoiled child! For this reason only I'm struggling to finish listening but will persevere as I want to know the ending. Please consider using a narrator who speaks like an adult in books which I assume are meant for adult readers! .......... Well I did finish it but still not impressed by this book ! It was very "chic lit" so not my cup of tea being 'elderly'. Helen should try taking a leaf from Betty Rowlands and other experienced writers of "cosy crime" I don't think I will bother with her other books if I see them in Audible. I will try to exchange or return it as soon as possible.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 23-08-19

Ridiculous plot

Plot was overlong and totally unbelievable. Characterization was poor. If I'd had to read it rather than listened to it I'd have given up after the first few chapters.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Chrissie Ann
  • 11-02-20

Ok

Don't really know why I finished listening to the book. Annoying narrator and very flowery language.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Michael
  • 23-01-20

Getting lost in the story

Getting lost in this book has made me late for work and kept me up till the early hours. A great read Helen Cox, and narration by Eilidh Beaton was fantastic. Loved it.

Michael Minster (yes that is my name)

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Teresa Harwood
  • 13-04-20

Entertaining

A comforting Cozy Murder mystery with a bit of romance thrown in. Librarian Kitt Hartley is not the most likely person to turn detective but when her best friend Evie is accused of murder she feels she has to do something. Set in the wonderful city of York it is an entertaining read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • J MILES
  • 18-02-20

Excellent story, brilliant narration

I really enjoyed this book. The pace was good and the characters were interesting and quirky. The narration was wonderful - it was like Jane Horrocks reading it. I’m not sure why others said it was childish - it wasn’t at all. The twists and turns were well paced and although I guessed a possible murderer half way through that didn’t take away from my enjoyment. Just off to purchase the next one!...

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Moya Russell
  • 01-02-20

irritating voice long plot

I could not work out if the narrator was meant to have an accent.
Plot too long and convulated.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Mama-Ace
  • 30-07-19

Yes, yes, she’s your BEST FRIEND. We get it.

Started off great, and then most of it became really repetitive. Really, really, really repetitive.