Get Your Free Audiobook

Prime logo New to Audible Prime Member exclusive:
2 credits with free trial
1 credit a month to use on any title to download and keep
Listen to anything from the Plus Catalogue—thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks
Download titles to your library and listen offline
₹199 per month after 30-day trial. Cancel anytime.
Speak cover art

Speak

Written by: Louisa Hall
Narrated by: Suzan Crowley,Bill Jurney,Christopher Ashman,Jennifer Page,Joe Ochman,Adrienne Rusk
Free with 30-day trial

₹199 per month after 30-day trial. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for ₹569.00

Buy Now for ₹569.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice.

Publisher's Summary

She cannot run. She cannot walk. She cannot even blink. As her batteries run down for the final time, all she can do is speak. Will you listen?

Speak is the story of artificial intelligence and those who loved it, hated it, and created it. Spanning geography and time, the novel takes us from Alan Turing's conviction in the 1950s to a Silicon Valley wunderkind imprisoned in 2040 for creating illegally lifelike dolls.

From a pilgrim girl writing her diary to a traumatised young girl exchanging messages with a software program, all these lives have shaped and changed a single artificial intelligence - MARY3.

In Speak, she tells you their story and her own. It the last story she will ever tell, spoken both in celebration and also warning - a warning against creating and abandoning beings with the ability to feel as deeply as we do.

When machines learn to speak, who decides what it means to be human?

For fans of David Mitchell and Margaret Atwood comes this poignant novel examining the story and ethics of artificial intelligence, a tale that spans our past and future, which will make readers everywhere question what it really means to be human.

Emily St. John Mandel, author of Station Eleven, calls Speak the "rarest of finds".

Louisa Hall grew up in Philadelphia. After graduating from Harvard, she played squash professionally while finishing her premedical coursework and working in a research lab at the Albert Einstein Hospital. She holds a PhD in literature from the University of Texas at Austin, where she currently teaches literature and creative writing, and she supervises a poetry workshop at the Austin State Psychiatric Hospital. She is the author of the novel The Carriage House, and her poems have been published in the New Republic, Southwest Review, Ellipsis, and other journals.

To find out more about the author please visit - www.louisahall.net

©2015 Louisa Hall (P)2015 Audible, Ltd

What listeners say about Speak

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.