Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with Audible free trial

₹199.00/month

1 credit a month to use on any title to download and keep
Listen to anything from the Plus Catalogue—thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks
Download titles to your library and listen offline
₹199 per month after 30-day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for ₹888.00

Buy Now for ₹888.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice.

Publisher's Summary

Brought to you by Penguin. 

A deeply moving and insightful collection of personal essays from number-one best-selling author John Green, adapted from his critically acclaimed podcast.

The Anthropocene is the current geological age, in which human activity has profoundly shaped the planet and its biodiversity. In this remarkable symphony of essays adapted and expanded from his groundbreaking podcast, John Green reviews different facets of the human-centred planet - from the QWERTY keyboard and Staphylococcus aureus to the Taco Bell breakfast menu - on a five-star scale.

Complex and rich with detail, the Anthropocene's reviews have been praised as 'observations that double as exercises in memoiristic empathy'. John Green's gift for storytelling shines throughout this artfully curated collection that includes both beloved essays and all-new pieces exclusive to the book.

©2021 John Green (P)2021 Penguin Audio

What listeners say about The Anthropocene Reviewed

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    88
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    87
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    64
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

This is a typical John Green work

I love the work of the Vlogbrothers. I have started following their work only recently.
I find it weird to have to rate this Book that starts on the premise of how novel the 5 star system is. Well, it's not weird, but it's something. It did make me cry a few times. And laugh a few times. And so, I give the audiobook version of The Anthropocene Reviewed, 5 stars.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I don't think I'd ever get bored of these reviews

I would like more non fiction books by John Green please! I'm convinced I'd gladly listen to him reviewing anything under the sun.
I give anthropocene reviewed four and a half stars.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very similar to the podcast

Loved it. Especially because John himself read it. I would've preferred if it had some background score. Also, chapters should've been named for easy navigation.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A remarkable book

The Anthropocene Reviewed is a unique, poignant, but most of all, a deeply necessary reflection of the impact of humans on the world, and the world on humans. Green manages the enormous feat of talking about a wide range of topics, from climate change to the Mountain Goats, with wonder, kindness and a deep earnestness that makes this almost required reading for anyone looking for a bit of hope and light in these strange times.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

10 hours of pure bliss

Having loved the eponymous podcast by John, this is a book worth hearing at 1x

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Humans at the centre of it all...for now

This audiobook has the complete experience of John Green's keen observations and thoughts regarding the general and his own life as a human being, coupled with his expressive voice.
I could hear him supressing a laugh, smiling through the narration, feeling helpless and regret but also hope, as he reviewed each topic. I cried a few times when I could relate with what he said, making me realise that this is "anthropocene"; shared experiences of all us humans who are, in the end, just earth breathing in earth :)

Giving the book 5 stars!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Worth it!

Loved the review more than the period. Green's reading is calm, something we need desperately in these times.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Review

Just hear John speak to you and your soul and all your sensibilities, to reflect upon your own life and all the words you have read and forgotten and wish you could hold on to.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

It was an amazing Journey

Amazing. The narration was good, by the author himself and we could feel the emotions he went through which is quite amazing.

A must listen for someone to feel how centrain events affects in a way we never thought of.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Loved the whole collection of essays. One of the best non-fiction I listened to in 2021

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Gino
  • 27-05-21

It’s the podcast, but with more

This audiobook is very much an expanded version of the podcast, and if you’re a longtime listener of The Anthropocene Reviewed, then there is not much different here. John Green’s delivery of his essays are excellent, and vary from witty and humorous to melancholy, but always tend to conclude with a hopefulness that tries to push itself forward, even through his one-star reviews. From time to time, snippets of his current experience during the global pandemic peek through, perhaps a point of quiet contemplation if listened to at a date outside 2020-2021, but being right in the middle of it during the listen, it’s still achingly resonant.

I suppose the audiobook’s strongest effect on me was during a drive I took out a long mountain road one evening. It was just me, the car and the audiobook as I listened for a few hours to it while trying to clear my head. Listening intently to John speak, I found myself relating a lot to his anxieties and fears. Mine may have not been the same as his, but nonetheless it felt surprisingly comforting to know that this other voice besides me in the car was every bit as human - as faulty - as I am. And that actually got me through the night.

I give The Anthropocene Reviewed audiobook five stars.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 29-05-22

I cried a lot.

And I laughed. And I did both at once. This is going to be my go-to gift for people when I don't know what to get them, because everyone can benefit from this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Siena Lopdell
  • 20-05-22

Better for having listened

John is a fantastic writer, so I'm sure this book reads well. But it feels like it was written specifically to be listened to. So much of the stories are very personal to John, so hearing them from his mouth brings the words their rightful life.
I give 'The Anthropocene Reviewed', 5 stars.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-01-22

我的2021非虚构类最佳阅读

I love how John has shared with us his vulnerability with sincerity. These stories are so powerful that they click with me instantly. As an introvert (INFP), it seems that I felt through all the emotions with him (I cried so many times). It hits me deeply in many ways.

I also love his sincerity and simplicity in story telling. John captured the exact point which defines human experience. It is supposed to be his personal experience, but I am sure it resonates with so many of us too.

I would give this book five stars. Happy to recommend it to any earth visitors as an introduction to humanity. :)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 17-06-21

I loved this!

I loved this book! I appreciate that it was read by the author, he did a stellar job! Insightful and thought provoking yet entertaining and enjoyable to listed to.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 22-09-21

pogged

poggers poggers poggers poggers poggers poggers poggers poggers poggers poggers poggers poggers poggers poggers pop pogu pogi pogs pogge pugg

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 19-05-21

So genuine and lovely

The book is about the world and how weird and horrible and wonderful it is, but it's also a deeply personal book about love and hope. This book made me both laugh and cry. I don't really know how to describe it but I feel seen in a way that is very rare.

I highly recommend this book but if you're feeling unsure go listen to an episode of the podcast by the same name, if you like it I'm sure you'll like the book too.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-07-21

More of the podcast

I bought this book hoping it would be more original essays expanding on the excellent podcast of the same name. John narrates very well and the content is wonderful and I enjoyed every bit of it. However such a large amount of the book is retreading old ground from the podcast that I find it hard to give it a higher score simply because the same great words were all ready available. That said, knowing what the Greens tend to do with their wealth I have no issue throwing in a few bucks that will doubtless find their way to a good cause. Thanks John your work makes the world a better place.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • An inspired Reader
  • 20-05-21

Humbling and full of wonder

I am a huge John Green fan and this is his best writing yet. It is funny, poignant, and full of the joy and confusion of what it means to be alive in the world right now. It is beautiful writing I will return to again and again.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Roseanna McGuirk
  • 08-02-22

Add chapter titles!

Please add chapter titles to the tracks, it would vastly improve this as an audio book experience if it was easier to find and revisit certain reviews.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Gomp
  • 02-11-21

Boring, gave up.

Unfortunately comes across as a slightly pompous telling of a dissociated assortment of ramblings with no cut, insight or cohesion.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jamie Cristofani
  • 27-05-21

Just what I needed.

Can't fault it, but this is exactly my kind of story right now. I'm a big fan of John and the anthropocene reviewed podcast. The book pulls existing and new reviews into a beautifully cohesive whole. Reviewing this book on a 5 star scale feels very different this time round, as much as giving 5 stars feels strange, giving less would feel unfair.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ashish s
  • 28-06-22

I give it 5 stars

I used to love his crash course videos. Got this because of it. Loved the 10 min chapters jumping from one topic to another which are completely different. I'm going back to re-listening to it right away.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mike
  • 31-05-22

All round banger

Feast your ears on this sound book. It's witty and insightful and full of lovely, quotable moments.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mellar
  • 28-05-22

Wish it didn't have to end

John Green is awesome. Being a fan of the vlogbrothers YouTube videos helps appreciate more but not required to be an enthralling read. John Green was easily the best person to read this. Now looking for the podcast for more reviews!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Allana Kate
  • 27-05-21

I give The Anthropocene Reviewed.. 5 stars.

As an avid fan and lover of both John and Hank Green and vlogbrothers for many years, this book has extensively made me feel more connected to the brothers. The premise of this book is unique and filled with wonderous experiences that John articulates in an encapsulating way. Reading (or listening to) this book encourages the reader to investigate their thoughts and actions in the Anthropocene as experienced daily.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 10-06-21

The philosophy of anxiety

Great book. I don't usually swing at the short story format but loved this. This book will make you cry, stare at clouds and stars and feel deeply about everything for a week or so.
5 stars

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 26-06-21

The book we needed in 2021

Filled with love, sorrow and laughter, this is the book we needed right now. Thanks John.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Christopher
  • 20-06-21

I rate this experience 5 stars

Philosophical ideas interwoven with beautiful anecdotes and great humour. Something only John Green could do.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Emily
  • 20-06-21

a book that marks this time in history

I like to think about what insights it's will be to people in 100 years

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • theArchitect
  • 10-06-21

The Anthropocene is what it is

This is an amazing and quiet original look of the anthropocene. The translation from podcast to audiobook is great, although I really liked the “end credits” of the podcast. That is the announcers yelling for a goal or the prolonged bird songs.

But nonetheless, I give the Anthropocene Reviewed … five stars!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 10-06-21

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

This was not what I expected. I guess I was expecting the authors perspective about the current world climate, politically, geographically, as well as economically. I was pleasantly surprised to see it as more a memoir of events that have contributed to the author's mind set. Absolutely loved it! Emotional, comical, logical! it had everything I have been needing lately. John Green, I thank you very much for expert narration and I will continue to follow you.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • alison harley
  • 07-06-21

I cried and laughed and now feel less alone.

this book made me reconsider and consider a lot that we just don't day to day. written through the pandemic and read during the pandemic makes this a special book and reading leaves me feeling less alone.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • michael
  • 27-05-21

I give the Anthropocene Reviewed, 5 stars.

Put simply, this is a beautiful book. Full little journeys which we get to spend with a man I thought I could not admire any more than I did, until I read this book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sydney
  • 23-09-21

A review about a book reviewing things, 5 stars.

A review about a book reviewing things, how could i give it anything less than 5 stars.

1 person found this helpful