Get Your Free Audiobook

The Body in the Snow

DCI Craig Gillard, Book 4
Written by: Nick Louth
Narrated by: Marston York
Length: 10 hrs and 46 mins

After 30 days, Audible is ₹199/mo. Cancel anytime.

OR

Publisher's Summary

Money, success, family? All deadly....

The gripping new DCI Gillard thriller. Perfect for readers of D. K. Hood, Patricia Gibney and Mark Billingham, The Body in the Snow is a remarkable and gripping crime thriller.  

A young detective is out for a jog on a snowy winter morning. Then she sees something terrible: a murder in the park, sudden and inexplicable. A woman has been killed by a passing hooded cyclist. It’s just DCI Craig Gillard’s luck that he’s on duty. The body is that of Tanvi Roy, one of the richest women in Britain and matriarch of a food empire. 

With a tangled web of family and business contacts and jealousies, Gillard’s job just got even more complex. As he delves deeper into the Roy family, it’s clear that everything is not as it seems. As the investigation threatens to unravel, Gillard realises it's only the beginning of his problems. Trouble of a different sort is brewing close to home.

©2019 Nick Louth (P)2020 W. F. Howes Ltd

What members say

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • wisconsinclark
  • 07-03-20

Good mystery, tired of Aunt

I like this series, but really it is time to move on from the problems with the Aunt. If our hero is as smart as he is supposed to be, this problem should have been solved by now. The red herring of stalking was also feeble, otherwise worth a credit.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Marydior
  • 24-03-20

Great listen

Well done mystery/police procedural that kept me guessing almost to the end. It dragged occasionally, hence the 4 star rating for the story but overall an enjoyable listen. Also enjoyed the narration.



2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Maine Knitter
  • 14-03-20

A good series

Book 4 in the Craig Gillard series is another good one. I must admit that I get the police colleagues confused. I had to take notes. (This may be because I listened to the audiobook and it’s hard to go back and see the names.) So when one of them runs into a bad situation I couldn’t really place him.

The story itself is interesting. The murder of the matriarch of a spice company and the family dynamics that produces provide much work for Gillard and crew. His family life takes a hit and I dislike the fact that he tends to forget about his wife too often. And he has to deal with his aunt who has returned from an earlier book.

The narration, again, is wonderful.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jane Elizabeth
  • 11-03-20

Amazing!!!!!!

I can’t wait for the next one! I can already imagine who is missing and where it may lead!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lynn
  • 10-03-20

Series Gets Even Better

Loved the plot and range of characters. Hope that our hero learns to spend more time with his spouse. He's really risking his marriage. How is the series getting better? Wicked humor cuts through some very tragic happenings. Writing shows sophisticated understanding of power dynamics in family businesses. The plot was precariously balanced between action, suspense, false leads, and good detective work. The book was not longer than it needed to be. The author quickly and neatly summed up the solutions, court outcomes, and relationship consequences. There are loose ends: suspicious characters lurk on the edges of the ending, and at least one plot line left this reader wondering if there is a false narrator in the police unit, plotting to mess up Craig. we shall see. Great narration as usual.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • arleneshapiro21
  • 05-05-20

edge of your seat

this is the best of the series. twists and turns, 'til the end. a wonderful exposition of what happens when you mix out of date mindsets with modern business and entrepreneurial individuals.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • angela yardy
  • 13-03-20

Fantastic !

This is a superbly written book in a great series. Books 2 and 3 in the series are not quite as good, but Nick Louth more than makes up with is one. The story is great and keeps one on edge to the very end. The performance by the reader is really good with plenty of inflection in his voice.

Overall a really good book !!!!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • 4Christ
  • 09-03-20

Disappointed

I really liked the first 2 books of this series. This one started out well enough and then just got so ridiculous. Very disappointed. Narration was superb though.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 25-05-20

Brilliant

Loved the storyline, good honest police work with a superbly natural team, flaws included! Brilliant.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Street
  • 17-05-20

Excellent

The best in the series so far, twists, turns and red herrings along the way, hopefully more to come.