Get Your Free Audiobook

After 30 days, Audible is ₹199/mo. Cancel anytime.

OR

Publisher's Summary

244 BC

Asoka the Great discovers an ancient and terrible secret - a secret buried deep in the Mahabharata; a secret that could destroy the world; a secret hidden away for over 2,300 years....

Present Day

A retired nuclear scientist is murdered. He leaves only emails with clues for his nephew. He and his friends follow a trail through ciphers and 2,000-year-old ruins. Pursued by powerful dark forces, caught between the secrets of the past and the intrigues of the present, can they unravel the mystery before an unspeakable horror is unleashed on the world?

©2013 Christopher C. Doyle (P)2018 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about The Mahabharata Secret

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    93
  • 4 Stars
    63
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    97
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Nice story with abrupt end...

The author has done good research to write this book. From Mahabharat to Samrat Ashok to modern day challenges, every point is covered properly. However, some points as stated below should have been included: 1. IB and other agencies are clue-less about activities of famous scientists and presence of terrorists around NCR. 2. How terrorists avoid attention of police despite moving in a fleet of SUVs and roam in different states? 3. In last chapter, the story ends abruptly. What happens to terrorists? Is their leader captured? What happens to Dr. Shukla and Radha? Why does not Vijay include his friends to the group of 9? What happens to Prof Greg and Terence? 4. How does Radha, despite being a nuclear physicist, get such a long time to spend with this group? I hope there is no second part of this book to find answers of above questions.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

predictable twists

the story is not much about Mahabharata its only about one secret technology of that time. Twists are predictable. First half of the book was boring but from chapter 28 book became interesting. but as a whole I have no intention to read another book by same author. narration was fine. PS- its a fiction and does not include much mythology.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Spectacular !!! you just cant ignore it.

just finished reading “the Mahabharata secret” , i must admit its astoundingly impressive, especially the story line, plot and characters weaved together brilliantly to take it ahead slowly and steadily 🤩😍 .. 👍

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

totally loved it very engaging

loved it very intriguing story line with lots of twist and turn , plus kudos to writer's imagination

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Adrenaline rush!

Amazing read..very pacy and full of twists snd turns.loved the subtle romantic angle as well

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not entertaining

Waste of time for me, not an engaging story I found it quite dull. Choose if you can struggle through out the long book

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Exhilarating Thriller

Having first read two books in the "Pataala Prophecy" series by Christopher Doyle, I have become an avid fan of his writings. It was then I decided to embark upon reading all his previous works and it began with the 'The Mahabharta Secret'. A truly jaw-dropping mythological nail-biter in which the protagonist along with his associates are on a mission to find centuries of old secret from the Mahabharata stashed away in secrecy by Emperor Ashoka. The secret has since then been closely guarded by a group of nine people better known as 'Brotherhood'. The clues to the location of this hidden secret are left behind in a set of cryptic clues by the protagonist's uncle who is found mysteriously killed in his palace fort. In an attempt to decipher the secret, the protagonist is also pursued by a terrorist group who wants this secret from the Mahabharata to accomplish their nefarious actions. The plot is fast-paced with twists and turns and keeps the reader glued on with excitement to know what happens next? The author has done immense research on mythology and history and intertwined them into a modern-day conspiracy fictional thriller. Readers who love authors like Dan Brown and Ashwin Sanghi are sure not to be disheartened. A captivating read with intermittent elements of surprises. A matter of time before reading other books by the author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

well articulated.

The books runs like thriller movies that binds you completely. very well captured and also light essence of ancient history. overall a good book when you feel bore from loads of intellectual readings

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Okay only..

a little too much.. listen only if you have nothing else to do. mixing layers of stories and the result is just average

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thriller

Narrated well. Fast paced plot and the narrative kept me interested as it brought alive the characters.