Get Your Free Audiobook

After 30 days, Audible is ₹199/mo. Cancel anytime.

OR

Publisher's Summary

244 BC

Asoka the Great discovers an ancient and terrible secret - a secret buried deep in the Mahabharata; a secret that could destroy the world; a secret hidden away for over 2,300 years....

Present Day

A retired nuclear scientist is murdered. He leaves only emails with clues for his nephew. He and his friends follow a trail through ciphers and 2,000-year-old ruins. Pursued by powerful dark forces, caught between the secrets of the past and the intrigues of the present, can they unravel the mystery before an unspeakable horror is unleashed on the world?

©2013 Christopher C. Doyle (P)2018 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about The Mahabharata Secret

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    118
  • 4 Stars
    86
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    120
  • 4 Stars
    65
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    94
  • 4 Stars
    75
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

predictable twists

the story is not much about Mahabharata its only about one secret technology of that time. Twists are predictable. First half of the book was boring but from chapter 28 book became interesting. but as a whole I have no intention to read another book by same author. narration was fine. PS- its a fiction and does not include much mythology.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Nice story with abrupt end...

The author has done good research to write this book. From Mahabharat to Samrat Ashok to modern day challenges, every point is covered properly.

However, some points as stated below should have been included:
1. IB and other agencies are clue-less about activities of famous scientists and presence of terrorists around NCR.
2. How terrorists avoid attention of police despite moving in a fleet of SUVs and roam in different states?
3. In last chapter, the story ends abruptly. What happens to terrorists? Is their leader captured? What happens to Dr. Shukla and Radha? Why does not Vijay include his friends to the group of 9? What happens to Prof Greg and Terence?
4. How does Radha, despite being a nuclear physicist, get such a long time to spend with this group?

I hope there is no second part of this book to find answers of above questions.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Unimpressive - Leads nowhere

The story has no meaningful connection to the title Mahabharata. The story meanders along with a very superficial sequence of events that does not carry much weight or conviction. The seemingly suspensful events were not remarkable or deep. The end was as unimpressive as the story or the plot. This is my first book of Christopher Doyle and not too impressed with this one.

The voice-over was very good and was easy to follow and engaging given the limitation of the story itself.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

totally loved it very engaging

loved it
very intriguing story line with lots of twist and turn , plus kudos to writer's imagination

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Adrenaline rush!

Amazing read..very pacy and full of twists snd turns.loved the subtle romantic angle as well

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Exhilarating Thriller

Having first read two books in the "Pataala Prophecy" series by Christopher Doyle, I have become an avid fan of his writings. It was then I decided to embark upon reading all his previous works and it began with the 'The Mahabharta Secret'. A truly jaw-dropping mythological nail-biter in which the protagonist along with his associates are on a mission to find centuries of old secret from the Mahabharata stashed away in secrecy by Emperor Ashoka. The secret has since then been closely guarded by a group of nine people better known as 'Brotherhood'. The clues to the location of this hidden secret are left behind in a set of cryptic clues by the protagonist's uncle who is found mysteriously killed in his palace fort. In an attempt to decipher the secret, the protagonist is also pursued by a terrorist group who wants this secret from the Mahabharata to accomplish their nefarious actions. The plot is fast-paced with twists and turns and keeps the reader glued on with excitement to know what happens next? The author has done immense research on mythology and history and intertwined them into a modern-day conspiracy fictional thriller. Readers who love authors like Dan Brown and Ashwin Sanghi are sure not to be disheartened. A captivating read with intermittent elements of surprises. A matter of time before reading other books by the author.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Intriguing

Narration style kept the interest live till the end. Will probably read no hear more of this Genere

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beyond Imagination

Excellent book to read on, its takes you to different zone .
people who loves history need to go through it

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Indiana Jones -Indian

Story line is good and binding but kind of very easy thriller more and Mahabharata mention is very less

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

too awesome. author has never made readers bore.

too awesome. storyline is placed such a way that readers are tempted to complete it in one shot. no lag. one of best story