Get Your Free Audiobook

The Mahabharata Secret

Written by: Christopher C. Doyle
Narrated by: Swetanshu Bora
Length: 10 hrs and 17 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (161 ratings)

After 30 days, Audible is ₹199/mo. Cancel anytime.

OR

Publisher's Summary

244 BC

Asoka the Great discovers an ancient and terrible secret - a secret buried deep in the Mahabharata; a secret that could destroy the world; a secret hidden away for over 2,300 years....

Present Day

A retired nuclear scientist is murdered. He leaves only emails with clues for his nephew. He and his friends follow a trail through ciphers and 2,000-year-old ruins. Pursued by powerful dark forces, caught between the secrets of the past and the intrigues of the present, can they unravel the mystery before an unspeakable horror is unleashed on the world?

©2013 Christopher C. Doyle (P)2018 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about The Mahabharata Secret

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    80
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    86
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Nice story with abrupt end...

The author has done good research to write this book. From Mahabharat to Samrat Ashok to modern day challenges, every point is covered properly.

However, some points as stated below should have been included:
1. IB and other agencies are clue-less about activities of famous scientists and presence of terrorists around NCR.
2. How terrorists avoid attention of police despite moving in a fleet of SUVs and roam in different states?
3. In last chapter, the story ends abruptly. What happens to terrorists? Is their leader captured? What happens to Dr. Shukla and Radha? Why does not Vijay include his friends to the group of 9? What happens to Prof Greg and Terence?
4. How does Radha, despite being a nuclear physicist, get such a long time to spend with this group?

I hope there is no second part of this book to find answers of above questions.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

predictable twists

the story is not much about Mahabharata its only about one secret technology of that time. Twists are predictable. First half of the book was boring but from chapter 28 book became interesting. but as a whole I have no intention to read another book by same author. narration was fine. PS- its a fiction and does not include much mythology.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Adrenaline rush!

Amazing read..very pacy and full of twists snd turns.loved the subtle romantic angle as well

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not entertaining

Waste of time for me, not an engaging story I found it quite dull. Choose if you can struggle through out the long book

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Exhilarating Thriller

Having first read two books in the "Pataala Prophecy" series by Christopher Doyle, I have become an avid fan of his writings. It was then I decided to embark upon reading all his previous works and it began with the 'The Mahabharta Secret'. A truly jaw-dropping mythological nail-biter in which the protagonist along with his associates are on a mission to find centuries of old secret from the Mahabharata stashed away in secrecy by Emperor Ashoka. The secret has since then been closely guarded by a group of nine people better known as 'Brotherhood'. The clues to the location of this hidden secret are left behind in a set of cryptic clues by the protagonist's uncle who is found mysteriously killed in his palace fort. In an attempt to decipher the secret, the protagonist is also pursued by a terrorist group who wants this secret from the Mahabharata to accomplish their nefarious actions. The plot is fast-paced with twists and turns and keeps the reader glued on with excitement to know what happens next? The author has done immense research on mythology and history and intertwined them into a modern-day conspiracy fictional thriller. Readers who love authors like Dan Brown and Ashwin Sanghi are sure not to be disheartened. A captivating read with intermittent elements of surprises. A matter of time before reading other books by the author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

well articulated.

The books runs like thriller movies that binds you completely. very well captured and also light essence of ancient history. overall a good book when you feel bore from loads of intellectual readings

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Okay only..

a little too much..
listen only if you have nothing else to do.
mixing layers of stories and the result is just average

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thriller

Narrated well. Fast paced plot and the narrative kept me interested as it brought alive the characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So much to learn from Mahabharata

Christopher, I have joined your Quest club. your books are very much enlightening. I have started learning Sanskrit solely because of you now. Thank you
One thing I'm still unclear is you have mentioned through Imran that Radha was taken to middle East and I believe all are assuming that she is dead. is she?
Ever since the "Secret of Nagas", I have become an ardent fant of Swetanshu Bora. especially differentiating between the voice of Parvateshwar and Ganesh. I didn't see any exceptions with the narration in this series as well. Brilliant is not the word to describe Swentanshu

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

great story
good voice changes for different characters
different tones for different situations
loved it