Get Your Free Audiobook

The Poems of Wilfred Owen

Written by: Wilfred Owen
Narrated by: Greg Wagland
Length: 46 mins

After 30 days, Audible is ₹199/mo. Cancel anytime.


Publisher's Summary

Poems was published in 1920. The poems of that work are included here and are as follows: Strange Meeting; Greater Love; Apologia pro Poemate Meo; The Show; Mental Cases; Parable of the Old Man and the Young; Arms and the Boy; Anthem for Doomed Youth; The Send-Off; Insensibility; Dulce et Decorum Est; The Sentry; The Dead-Beat; Exposure; Spring Offensive; The Chances; S.I.W.; Futility; Smile, Smile, Smile; Conscious; A Terre; Disabled. With warm thanks to the Trustees of The Owen Estate for permission to record the 1920 poems using the texts from the definitive work, Complete Poems and Fragments (1983) by Professor Jon Stallworthy. It is read by Greg Wagland.

©1983 The Owen Estate (P)2012 Magpie Audio

What members say

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Wendy Williams-Hall
  • 09-10-13


Would you listen to The Poems of Wilfred Owen again? Why?

Over and over, just puts you in the trenches with the emotions of those fighting

What other book might you compare The Poems of Wilfred Owen to, and why?

The Book of Psalms from the Bible as the poems are so emotive and inspiring

What does Greg Wagland bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

I like his tone, seems to bring book to life

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

All of it

1 person found this helpful