Get Your Free Audiobook

After 30 days, Audible is ₹199/mo. Cancel anytime.

OR

Publisher's Summary

Under a Wartime Sky is an enthralling historical novel by Liz Trenow, based on real-life events at a top-secret wartime research station. Telling the story of the heroes behind the discovery of radar, it’s perfect for fans of Kate Furnivall and Rachel Hore.

Bawdsey Manor holds a secret.

1936: the threat of war hangs over Europe. Churchill gathers the brightest minds in Britain at a grand house in Suffolk. Bound to complete secrecy, they work together on an invention that could mean victory for the Allies. Among them is Vic, a gifted but shy physicist who, for the first time, feels like he belongs.

Local girl Kathleen wants to do more than serving tea and biscuits to ‘do her bit’. So when the Bawdsey team begin to recruit women to operate their top secret system, she dedicates herself to this life-or-death work. Kath and Vic form an unlikely friendship as the skies over Britain fill with German bombers. Little does Kath know just whose life she will change forever, one fateful night....

Based on the real history of Bawdsey Manor, Under a Wartime Sky is a novel about courage, belonging and hope.

©2020 Liz Trenow (P)2020 Macmillan Publishers International Ltd

What listeners say about Under a Wartime Sky

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 17-09-20

wartime story

I really enjoyed this book, the characters were interesting and as the story unfolds it feels like you are actually there with them.
some sad bits but a happy ending.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Nana Cates
  • 01-04-20

Wartime Sky

I absolutely loved this book. I’ve lived in Felixstowe since my marriage in 1975. We used to take our two boys over the ferry to see Bawdsy Manor and walk round the point and see the radar towers. We loved it and still do. Thank you for this amazing book. I love all your books. Please write many more.