Get Your Free Audiobook

A Place to Call Home

Written by: Val Wood
Narrated by: Anne Dover
Length: 11 hrs and 58 mins

After 30 days, Audible is ₹199/mo. Cancel anytime.

OR

Publisher's Summary

Random House presents the audiobook edition of A Place to Call Home by Val Wood, read by Anne Dover.

Ellen thought she’d always live in the remote, pretty coastal village where she grew up. After all, her husband, Harry, works on a farm where he’s guaranteed a job and home for life. 

But when the old landowner dies and the couple and their young children are forced from their cottage, the future is suddenly bleak. Rather than stay - and starve - in the countryside they love, Harry sets out to find a job in the factories and mills of nearby Hull, and Ellen must leave behind everything she’s ever known to follow her husband and build a new life for her family on the unfamiliar city streets.

The road ahead is full of hardships and challenges. But with love and determination, they make the best of things, forging friendships with other newcomers and refugees, even helping them to succeed in their new surroundings. 

Then tragedy threatens Ellen’s fragile happiness. How much more can she sacrifice before they find a place to call home? 

Val Wood's wonderful historical sagas are perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Rosie Goodwin.

©2018 Val Wood (P)2018 Random House Audiobooks

What members say

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • barbara
  • 23-05-19

Wonderful

Thank you once again for writing such a lovely story. I found it very interesting- times were hard for some people in those days but all managed to live their lives the best way they could. I loved every minute listening to it read beautifully by Anne Dover . I also found it emotional in parts but the ending was lovely. please write another book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • suzanne barber
  • 25-02-19

beautiful book

wonderful story, well written and narrated with feeling. I wish it had gone on longer.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Beryl
  • 06-02-19

A Place Called Home

I have really enjoyed this story. It has many twists and turns.
and I found it very hard to stop listening.
Thank you so much Val Wood.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • wolffie
  • 08-01-19

A very enjoyable read

The combination of Val Wood’s story telling and Anne Dover’s narration is really a treat. I look forward to another visit to the work these two artists.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • lou
  • 06-09-19

Sickly sweet

Way to sweet and innocent, actually put me off, and got bored of hearing about them collecting kindling for the fire, not for me this one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-01-19

easy listening

I enjoyed this book, its Interesting, but keeps you entertained. the narrator is Anne Dover who always talks expertly