Get Your Free Audiobook

Listen with Audible free trial

₹199.00/month

1 credit a month to use on any title to download and keep
Listen to anything from the Plus Catalogue—thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks
Download titles to your library and listen offline
₹199 per month after 30-day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for ₹930.00

Buy Now for ₹930.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice.

Publisher's Summary

A fantastic stand-alone historical novel in the tradition of Hetty Feather and Wave Me Goodbye, this rich, entertaining novel will delight fans news and old. 

Mona and her aunt live in a little cottage on the edge of the Somerset estate, where her aunt sews wonderful dresses for the lady of the house. 

Mona never knew her mother or father, but Aunty has always looked after her - and Mona knows she can always talk to her mum where she lies in the village graveyard. When Lady Somerset dies and a new member of the Somerset family inherits the house, things begin to change for Mona. 

She has never really fitted in anywhere, but the new Bohemian atmosphere at the house offers opportunities for her to shine - and to find new friends. Dancing at fancy Sea Creature balls and trips to London are wonderful new experiences - but new experiences sometimes bring revelations, and Mona discovers there are secrets in her past she can't dance away from.

©2019 Jacqueline Wilson (P)2019 Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd

What listeners say about Dancing the Charleston

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Karen Wright
  • 11-05-19

Brilliant

Such a lovely story with a twist at the end which had me remembering a previous character

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ashleigh Wilcockson
  • 24-10-21

A slow but interesting story!

It went slowly and was tedious at times however remained interesting. The ending was surprising and the twist confirmed what most older readers would have worked out. Overall a nice story however I would have liked a bit more information about how things turned out after the big plot twist of an ending perhaps there will be a second part to the story that explains more?

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Richard Cowhig
  • 01-04-21

great

great story,

read exquisitely

amazing amazing amazing!

would recommend for ages 9+

definitely a favourite

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs C
  • 11-06-22

Charleston

Amazing, I didn’t want to stop listening to it. I loved it. Jacqueline Wilson books are so enthralling.🥰📚

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sarah
  • 30-03-22

Great Book

I liked that the story was very looked into. The performance was great! The voices were great!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lucym8885
  • 24-03-22

I’ve read it and I love it!!!!!!!

Oh my goodness it is so amazing I can’t even think of the right words to say! So I’m just gonna say a few random words. Here you go: hot,cat ,pop,so,falling,Melvin’s,catches,ill! There! Done! By Nina, aged 8

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • mary elliott
  • 06-07-21

Soooo good

This book is great you will never get bored of it
. Fantastic amazing stupendous outstanding I just some of the words that I could use to describe this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs KE Swain
  • 23-03-21

FAB-U-LOUS!!!

An amazing story!!! Jacqueline Wilson never fails to impress!! I’m going to listen to this again with my mum because she loves JW books too☺️

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • AllyJU
  • 23-09-20

Amazing

I loved the story because it made you feel involved and not simply telling it. I especially liked the twist at the end. I love it when stories cross with each other.😀😊

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Steven French
  • 20-07-20

Very good!!!

I thought the story was amazing, I loved listening but some of the voices were quite similar and there were so many different people, at points I sort of forgot who the people were. I would recommend it to girls ages 9-16. enjoy!!