Get Your Free Audiobook

Into the Unknown

Written by: Jasper T. Scott
Length: 9 hrs and 57 mins

After 30 days, Audible is ₹199/mo. Cancel anytime.

OR

Publisher's Summary

Their Cruise Ship Jumped to the Wrong Star System 

The USA Today best-selling author of Dark Space, a true master of plot twists, brings you a gripping new sci-fi thriller....

Criminal attorney Liam Price can't believe his luck. He scored a deal for a suite aboard the Starlit Dream to the exotic world of Aquaria in the Kepler star system. He surprises his wife, Aria, with the trip for her 40th birthday, and the Price family gets ready for the trip of a lifetime. 

Soon after the voyage starts, they learn that they’ve somehow jumped to the wrong star system. Liam consults the ship’s computer to determine their location, but he can't access the navigational data. The captain claims that there’s nothing to worry about, but Liam wonders: if there’s nothing to worry about, why restrict access to the ship’s nav data? He fears that pirates may have detoured them to rob and ransom the wealthy passengers. 

Before they can learn more, the ship plunges into darkness, and suddenly the cruise of a lifetime turns into a trip to hell. As the crisis unfolds, Liam and his family are thrust into the middle of a deadly conspiracy and a desperate struggle for survival. 

Into the Unknown is a mystery thriller set in space, perfect for fans of Michael Crichton, Suzanne Collins, and Arthur C. Clarke.

©2019 Jasper T. Scott (P)2019 Audible, Inc.

What members say

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Hanns Bell
  • 07-08-19

Great Book with many surprises

You can't trust anyone. This story has more twists that you can believe... Hard to not listen in one sitting.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Dennis
  • 31-12-19

Interessting premise but a disappointing ending

This is the second Jasper T. Scott book I've read and both have the same problem. Its definitely NOT hard science fiction. That said the characters and story were interesting but the last 1-2 hours were really bad. The author goes way off the rails with fantasy science that ruins the book for me. It's like a somewhat realistic adventure on a train until you get to the end and you find that a character has a magic teleporter in his luggage and teleports you away to a happy ending.

Skip this one.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Linda Wilson
  • 03-08-19

Exciting and interesting storyline

I enjoyed the storyline very much. Fully believe able and well written. Loved the voices of each character and how it flowed. I highly recommend it.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jim K
  • 26-11-19

Yet another Jasper Scott masterpiece!

I don’t believe in spoilers!
As with all of Jasper’s stories the characters are believable and multidimensional; you could commiserate or loath them as the case may be. I think I would recognize them if they knocked on my door. The descriptions of the locales are vivid it’s very easy to imagine yourself there. The story line is plausible and engrossing.

Using 2 narrators added significantly to the listening experience. Both performed excellently giving depth to an already captivating yarn.

If you have never read any of Jasper Scott’s work you are really missing a wonderful experience

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • kixfan
  • 18-09-19

Loved it!

Really enjoyed this one! Think a more serious, gritty version of Lost in Space. Really have liked everything I've heard by this Author so far.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sailfish
  • 06-09-19

Unique Angle on Immortality Story

Jasper T. Scott is a very good writer and both Tia Rider and Ben Jaeger-Thomas are enjoyable narrators.

The protagonists are given an interesting backstory to make them interesting and the antagonists are not diabolically evil but are self-interested to the point of making them unlikable. There are several twists playing out and one gets the feeling that the author left a lot of options open as to how the twists would turn out until close to the end. The SciFi was more on the 'Fi' side but still well within current expectations. The author does a good job at presenting a difficult moral dilemma that several of the characters are forced to consider during different periods of the story. I thought the end was a little out-there (excusing the pun) as well as a bit open-ended but still provided an adequate closure to the story.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Wicked
  • 02-02-20

Another Mediocre book

I truly wonder if its just me sometimes. I seem to come across so many books that are just "meh". I almost didn't finish it. As usually I kept going hoping it would get better but it really didn't.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Damage Inc XLE
  • 26-08-19

Great one to listen to!

I really enjoyed this book. The story was good and there's enough twists to keep you entertained but not annoyed. Characters are developed well enough to care about them without too much added info. Overall, just a great story. I tore through this pretty quick and am a little disappointed it is over so quickly. Very much looking forward to the next book of Jasper's.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • D. Dial
  • 14-10-19

I am returning this title

I travel about 50K mikes a year in my car and listen to allot of audiobooks. I return some because they just aren’t my type of book but I really thought this could be my type...wanted to know the ending but. Ouldnt even get there. I developed an intense dislike for Aria which was certainly not what the author intended as she is a devoted mother who cares about the treatment of other species.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Brian
  • 11-09-19

Great story with unique narration style

I enjoyed the story. The main characters are very relatable and act 'real'. It is very easy to get into Jasper's universe, as he describes just enough about something futuristic without going into jargon or talking about aspects that aren't necessary for the story to progress. I'd enjoy listening to more books in this series.

The actual narration had some issues. There were two orators who took turns every chapter or so (one man, one woman). This usually represented different parties in the story, but not always. I found it more of a distraction to switch my focus to the different speaker's style. Each one on their own was fine.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • swimmerpaul
  • 16-03-20

WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY

I have learnt that any time it's only from audible means it's not good enough to go to print that's the last time I fall for that.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • martin
  • 16-12-19

Excellent book. Can skip the last 2 hours.

The book is great. Amazing story and plot twists. The concepts are very interesting and entertaining. But spoiler - the 2 hours of actionjackson inside the cruise boat towards the end could have been skipped entirely and the book would have been much better. No major plot Points or important stuff was revealed inside all that action anyway. I shook my head at alot of the characters decisions and not-so-belieavable actions during this phase. Editors of the book shouldve recommended to just delete a few Chapters there.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Smudger444
  • 02-11-19

This was a brilliant well written SoFi story.

Great performance by the narrator's. Brilliant story. this could be the start of a wonderful series. thank you.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Shaz
  • 01-09-19

thrilling!

Thoroghly enjoyed this audio book. it was action packed and quite a thriller. would love to see it made into a movie.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon CustomerMaryann
  • 14-12-19

ento the unknown

Exellent story a must read for science fiction fans.aThe narrator was very good a enjoyable story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 20-11-19

Couldn’t predict this one!

This was an excellent story with twists and turns all the way through it. Tricked me several times. The narrators were excellent. Great for someone who likes sci fi without it being too weird and far fetched.