Get Your Free Audiobook

One of Us Is Lying

Written by: Karen McManus
Length: 10 hrs and 43 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

After 30 days, Audible is ₹199/mo. Cancel anytime.

OR

Publisher's Summary

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of One of Us Is Lying by Karen McManus, read by Kim Mai Guest, MacLeod Andrews, Shannon McManus and Robbie Daymond. 

Five students go to detention. Only four leave alive. For fans of Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars, this is the perfect high school thriller.

Yale hopeful Bronwyn has never publicly broken a rule.

Sports star Cooper only knows what he's doing in the baseball diamond.

Bad boy Nate is one misstep away from a life of crime.

Prom queen Addy is holding together the cracks in her perfect life.

And outsider Simon, creator of the notorious gossip app at Bayview High, won't ever talk about any of them again.

He dies 24 hours before he could post their deepest secrets online. Investigators conclude it's no accident. All of them are suspects.

Everyone has secrets, right?

What really matters is how far you'll go to protect them.

©2018 Karen McManus (P)2018 Penguin Books Ltd

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A light breezy listen

This was my first audible listen. I am a huge book fan but lately I have been struggling to find time to read. With a heavy heart and ambivalent feelings, I took the trial subscription of audible. I wanted to listen to something simple to begin with, just to check it out. So going into this, I knew this book wasn't Atlas Shrugged or anything.

The story is simple, four typical teenagers get caught up in a mysterious death of a fellow unpopular student. The cause of it is revealed through their four PoV narration.

If you have watched high school movies or high school TV serials, there is nothing new here. All characters are exactly who you expect to be. You can predict any twists or reveals, chapters before it comes. The writing is simple. The romance is even simpler.

The narrators were very clear, consistent and showed good emotion throughout the novel. Based on the voice you were able to understand which character was speaking pretty easily. There was also slight accent as per what the character warranted, which was also helpful.

In spite of all this, I still had to concentrate to follow along. It wasn't like watching a chick flick while you finish writing your document. I had to pause and rewind at times to catch what I missed. I am going to attribute it to first timer syndrome and give it a few more audibles.

What other choice do I have, given the way my days are going!! If I need to continue my tryst with my beloved books, I better find a way to make this work!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

wait... So who is lying?

the best thing about the audiobook is hands down the audio. the narration is just perfect. even guys imitating as girls and vice versa is not cringe at all... the same can't be said about the finale. the story had a strong start, a well paced middle, and a meh ending... maybe I was expecting more but still don't regret reading it at all tho.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Daniel Prinsloo
  • 02-06-19

Good conclusion. Perfection needed more details

The story does have a satisfying conclusion. I just wanted a bit more blanks to be filled in. some more details of the smaller details of the mystery and how it was executed not just the what.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sophie
  • 15-12-18

Similar to Pretty little liars

The story was good, unexpected and very much kept you intrigued. The plot twist and the unraveling story at the end was a surprise. Overall the book was good, if you like pretty little liars it’s fairly similar on a smaller scale. However, my only problem with the book is that mostly the reading voices are okay and makes the characters seem like real people; but some of the narration throughout the book sounds robotic, and made it less imaginable.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Miss Alexandra Rinck
  • Cambridge
  • 01-07-18

excellent

Gripping story. An internally consistent, plausible story. Believable 3D characters. An exploration of how difficult experiences can act like a catalyst for positive change.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ciara mcgarry
  • 26-08-19

excellent

brilliant story line. plot was amazing! did take a little bit to get into but once i got in i couldnt stop listening

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 18-07-19

Okay story, saved by the performance

The story was only okay. Unfortunately the twist did not shock me at all as I had guessed it from the start. The characters were very realistic even if they were very much just typical character tropes, and I'm a sucker for a love story. The performance, however, was incredible, with the narrator for Bromwyn being the stand out. If you don't mind the story being a little weak (But still enjoyable) the narration will save it for you. A missable but enjoyable experience.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jubags
  • Dublin
  • 14-07-19

Loved it

Very good and I didn’t suspect you was in the end one bit very well written

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Antri Theodosiou
  • 09-07-19

great story!

definitely worth reading if you like teen mystery novels! I really enjoyed it and would recommend. only issue is that it's hard to distinguish the voice of the narrators. it's supposed to be 4 people and even men and women sound very similar. also, it's hard to get to know the characters in the first couple of chapters but don't give up! it's worth it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • User405
  • 24-01-19

Amazing

Best book I've come across since i was 4 when I picked up the harry potter series for the first time. Could not stop listening

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Juno Sobers
  • 10-01-19

great book

I loved the twists and turns in this book but I figured out how did it half way through but still worth listening to

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Ashleigh Weir
  • 25-12-18

Disappointing ending

The story had my attention throughout, but I was slightly disappointed by the ending, it is a good listen though.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amber
  • 04-06-19

Gripping!

I loved this story and was gripped right from the very beginning all the way to the end. I connected with the characters very quickly and felt everything they were feeling. Definitely recommend. I’m just sad to have finished it :(

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 28-07-19

I liked it

I really liked the book, I had an inklings on what had happened but I was still unsure. Overall I enjoyed listening to the book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 31-03-19

Best story plot and cute relationships

I got so shocked about the ending and the characters have have their own story and the couples are soo cute and am in love with this book. I recommend to watch

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 23-10-18

Drainer

A real let down and the ending is a drainer, a lead up to a let down. Do not recommend.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful