Get Your Free Audiobook

One of Us Is Lying

Written by: Karen McManus
Length: 10 hrs and 43 mins
4.0 out of 5 stars (18 ratings)

After 30 days, Audible is ₹199/mo. Cancel anytime.

OR

Publisher's Summary

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of One of Us Is Lying by Karen McManus, read by Kim Mai Guest, MacLeod Andrews, Shannon McManus and Robbie Daymond. 

Five students go to detention. Only four leave alive. For fans of Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars, this is the perfect high school thriller.

Yale hopeful Bronwyn has never publicly broken a rule.

Sports star Cooper only knows what he's doing in the baseball diamond.

Bad boy Nate is one misstep away from a life of crime.

Prom queen Addy is holding together the cracks in her perfect life.

And outsider Simon, creator of the notorious gossip app at Bayview High, won't ever talk about any of them again.

He dies 24 hours before he could post their deepest secrets online. Investigators conclude it's no accident. All of them are suspects.

Everyone has secrets, right?

What really matters is how far you'll go to protect them.

©2018 Karen McManus (P)2018 Penguin Books Ltd

What listeners say about One of Us Is Lying

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A light breezy listen

This was my first audible listen. I am a huge book fan but lately I have been struggling to find time to read. With a heavy heart and ambivalent feelings, I took the trial subscription of audible. I wanted to listen to something simple to begin with, just to check it out. So going into this, I knew this book wasn't Atlas Shrugged or anything. The story is simple, four typical teenagers get caught up in a mysterious death of a fellow unpopular student. The cause of it is revealed through their four PoV narration. If you have watched high school movies or high school TV serials, there is nothing new here. All characters are exactly who you expect to be. You can predict any twists or reveals, chapters before it comes. The writing is simple. The romance is even simpler. The narrators were very clear, consistent and showed good emotion throughout the novel. Based on the voice you were able to understand which character was speaking pretty easily. There was also slight accent as per what the character warranted, which was also helpful. In spite of all this, I still had to concentrate to follow along. It wasn't like watching a chick flick while you finish writing your document. I had to pause and rewind at times to catch what I missed. I am going to attribute it to first timer syndrome and give it a few more audibles. What other choice do I have, given the way my days are going!! If I need to continue my tryst with my beloved books, I better find a way to make this work!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

wait... So who is lying?

the best thing about the audiobook is hands down the audio. the narration is just perfect. even guys imitating as girls and vice versa is not cringe at all... the same can't be said about the finale. the story had a strong start, a well paced middle, and a meh ending... maybe I was expecting more but still don't regret reading it at all tho.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Nest
  • 21-10-19

Narration is horrible

The narration is literal garbage and there's ONE voice actor for all the young TEEN characters that are supposed to be portrayed in this story. Utterly garbage.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Daniel Prinsloo
  • 02-06-19

Good conclusion. Perfection needed more details

The story does have a satisfying conclusion. I just wanted a bit more blanks to be filled in. some more details of the smaller details of the mystery and how it was executed not just the what.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sophie
  • 15-12-18

Similar to Pretty little liars

The story was good, unexpected and very much kept you intrigued. The plot twist and the unraveling story at the end was a surprise. Overall the book was good, if you like pretty little liars it’s fairly similar on a smaller scale. However, my only problem with the book is that mostly the reading voices are okay and makes the characters seem like real people; but some of the narration throughout the book sounds robotic, and made it less imaginable.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Miss Alexandra Rinck
  • 01-07-18

excellent

Gripping story. An internally consistent, plausible story. Believable 3D characters. An exploration of how difficult experiences can act like a catalyst for positive change.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Corey T
  • 18-07-19

Okay story, saved by the performance

The story was only okay. Unfortunately the twist did not shock me at all as I had guessed it from the start. The characters were very realistic even if they were very much just typical character tropes, and I'm a sucker for a love story. The performance, however, was incredible, with the narrator for Bromwyn being the stand out. If you don't mind the story being a little weak (But still enjoyable) the narration will save it for you. A missable but enjoyable experience.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 06-10-20

Amazing ❤️

Great storyline if u like pll /gossip girl youl love it i liked the characters they worked really well together but i defo worked the plot out early on but that's okkkk💙💙

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Abby Lusty
  • 09-07-20

Predictable but enjoyable

I was told there was a good plot twist and I’m usually terrible at guessing them and generally rule out whatever I guess first. However the plot twist here was that I got it right immediately - so in that respect it was a surprise. Weak story but it kept me entertained when I had a lot of boring manual work to get through. Would recommend for an easy listen that’s not to emotionally or mentally taxing

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Grace Oliver
  • 03-07-20

great teen thriller

enjoyed all the voices of the characters, good story that keeps you guessing until the end

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Matt
  • 27-04-20

MUST READ BOOK!

Amazing Story. Highly recommended. narration was amazing. having a different reader for each person made it very easy to follow the story. few plot twist which was shocking to hear every time.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Adam Cranfield
  • 01-04-20

A.M.A.Z.I.N.G

I love this book so much! I have read it and re read it SOOO many times, and I’m a huge fan of the whole series! The actors were good, but sometimes they ruined the moments of suspense in the story with robotic-Siri-like voices. But, overall everything was amazing and I am still strongly recommending this audio book to EVERYONE!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ciara mcgarry
  • 26-08-19

excellent

brilliant story line. plot was amazing! did take a little bit to get into but once i got in i couldnt stop listening

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jubags
  • 14-07-19

Loved it

Very good and I didn’t suspect you was in the end one bit very well written

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Carl Schwencke
  • 11-04-20

Thrilling

I stumbled upon this book accidently and haven't been able to put it down since, it's gripping and delivers a twist that I didn't see coming.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-04-20

Perfect cross over

Perfect cross over of Pretty little liars, Breakfast club and How to get away with murder. The character development was well done and the mystery was surprising. Perfect comment on today’s society with social media, violence and teenage relationships.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 16-03-20

Well crafted mystery

Nice plot, characters well-developed. Suspense maintained throughout and reveal was timed well. On to the sequel!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 26-12-19

Good ook

Really good book, has a good plot with clear voice acting. Is relatable and realistic. recommended for 14-18s

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 28-07-19

I liked it

I really liked the book, I had an inklings on what had happened but I was still unsure. Overall I enjoyed listening to the book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 31-03-19

Best story plot and cute relationships

I got so shocked about the ending and the characters have have their own story and the couples are soo cute and am in love with this book. I recommend to watch

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 23-10-18

Drainer

A real let down and the ending is a drainer, a lead up to a let down. Do not recommend.