Get Your Free Audiobook

1 credit a month to use on any title to download and keep
Listen to anything from the Plus Catalogue—thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks
Download titles to your library and listen offline
Limited time offer: 2 months free trial
Princess and the Player cover art

Princess and the Player

Written by: Ilsa Madden-Mills
Narrated by: Lee Samuels,Stella Bloom
Free with trial

₹199 per month after 30-day trial. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for ₹844.00

Buy Now for ₹844.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice.

Publisher's Summary

A masquerade ball brings together an NFL player and a penniless princess in this smart and sexy romance from Wall Street Journal bestselling author Ilsa Madden-Mills.

Levelheaded Francesca Lane never thought she’d miss her own wedding. But when her fiancé betrays her, she puts on her wedding dress and ditches the altar for a masquerade ball—at an exclusive lifestyle club.

There, she meets unknown-to-her NFL star Tuck Avery, dressed as a prince and hiding behind a mask—he’s there to celebrate his birthday. For one night, Francesca and Tuck indulge in a wickedly incognito affair. No names. No strings. And the masks don’t come off.

Unfortunately, Francesca realizes quickly that her masked prince is the wealthy jock who lives in the penthouse of her apartment building. His hobbies include parties and supermodels—or so the tabloids say. Getting tangled up with a shallow jerk is the last thing Francesca needs right now, so she vows to keep Tuck from recognizing her (not that she’s his type anyway).

But fate has a teeny-tiny trick up her sleeve…a plus sign on a pregnancy test. Can this tormented prince accept love, or will he push his princess away forever?

©2022 Ilsa Madden-Mills (P)2022 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved.

Critic Reviews

“The couple has chemistry to spare and Madden-Mills packs in the feels. Returning readers will be pleased.” (Publishers Weekly)

“A steamy romance that will appeal to fans of Karla Sorenson and Kristen Callihan.” (Library Journal)

What listeners say about Princess and the Player

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-11-22

Guess I’m not a fan of Lee Samuels

I’ve tried listening and restarting the audio numerous times, but Lee Samuel’s narration keeps pulling me out of the story. Especially his feminine voice.
I’m new to his narration. Giving it another try.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Jeneffer Watson
  • Jeneffer Watson
  • 25-01-23

loved it!

I love this one more than the first book. I loved them both but this one gave me the angst, made me smile, some giggles too. I love all the banters between the hero and heroine, and the side characters are awesome, they made this book whole. Tucker and Francesca’s journey to their HEA had some bumps, I just wish there was more grovelling after how Tuck treated Fran, him finding out her secret. I wish the author made Fran resist a bit more and gave Tuck a hard time asking for forgiveness (That’s just me)
Loved it still ❤️❤️❤️

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Nichole Weeks
  • Nichole Weeks
  • 22-01-23

Love

Loved this book and the narrators. This was a good series to start with and I hope to see more.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 22-01-23

Make narrator disappointing

Male narrator was not a good fit for the story. Overall, the plot was good. However, ending felt rush.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Booknerdingout
  • Booknerdingout
  • 20-01-23

Coincidence or Fate?

First complete audiobook I’ve listen to in months! Super cute story. Francesca was a strong, beautiful character. Adored the close circle of family made for herself. The narrators did a great job, and I even looked up other audiobooks they’ve narrated.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile image for LeidyD
  • LeidyD
  • 14-01-23

boredom

The book is fantastic. Lee Samuel was a great performer but... Stella appeared bored and unanimated while reading. I couldn't get past the chapter and opted to read the book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Johanna
  • Johanna
  • 13-01-23

Cute, Funny, Swoony, Sexy

This book was truly all the things. It kept me interested and invested all day while sitting on an uncomfortable airplane lol

Tuck is a broody and sensitive soul with a past that haunts him, his career is coming to an end for the simple fact he’s aged out of his profession.

Francesca has a troubled past but not so tragic, she was strong from word one go but gets so much stronger as the story progresses.

These two souls find each other in the most unexpected place, connect on a carnal level, a pregnancy occurs and then the shenanigans of how to keep it a secret ensue lol

I giggle snorted out-loud quite a few times during this story, I had a permanent smile on my face during it. It felt so real like I was watched their life play out.

Lee Samuels did a masterful job with this performance. I very much enjoyed hearing him bring Tuck to life.

Stella Bloom is wonderful and I loved every minute of her performance

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Just me Nicole
  • Just me Nicole
  • 07-01-23

One night stand accidental pregnancy romance

I really enjoyed this!!!

I am not usually a fan of the accidental pregnancy trope, but this was great!

Toss in a football player, traumatic childhoods, and a secret club meeting...YES! I would recommend this one!

The narrators were both new to me and dang! I'm a fan! They both did an amazing job!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Romance Reads Reviewed by K ~Kristien~
  • Romance Reads Reviewed by K ~Kristien~
  • 02-01-23

Realistic story

AUDIOBOOK REVIEW
The Princess and The Player is book two of the Strangers In Love series by Ilsa Madden-Mills.
Jilted bride Francesca meets NFL player Tuck at a masquerade party, and they have a fantastic night together.
I loved how this couple came together and grew closer. Both MCs hadn't had an easy childhood, which caused some issues in their relationship that they had to work through. This wasn't easy, but it made them stronger as people and as a couple.
I expected this to be a lighter story, but this story evoked real, deep emotions. Everything was well balanced out, while it was emotional, there was equally as much humor and steam.
I loved the found family aspect of the story.
Stella Bloom and Lee Samuels narrated the story and did a great job. Their pleasurable voices added to the drama and elevated the story.
If you love realistic stories with real, deep emotions but also some humor and steam, Princess and the Player is for you!


Tropes: One-night stand
surprise pregnancy
strangers to lovers
sports romance

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Cindy Sprinkel
  • Cindy Sprinkel
  • 02-01-23

Sweetly Naughty

Wonderful story, beautifully written with depth I didn't expect. Nice and steamy scenes all fit perfectly together.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Tracey Manning 1966
  • Tracey Manning 1966
  • 22-01-23

Great Book

Lovely read . With a few up and downs . Great for a Sunday. Happy ending, narration good

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 12-12-22

Perfect feel good story

Love the writing and the building of individuals story’s within the book
Plus really good narration

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Mrs D
  • Mrs D
  • 12-11-22

🎧 Francesca and Tuck 🎧

I loved these characters, their traumatic pasts, and their found families. Witty, steamy and romantic from start to finish.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile image for J Hobson
  • J Hobson
  • 11-11-22

Another cracker

A great addition to the series. This book was alot deeper and more emotional than I expected. Both main characters really tugged on my heart strings with their back stories. I really felt for Fran she's been through so much and I love her new found family. We meet some great new characters in this story. I loved Jasper and Cece they really made me laugh which helped break up some of the darker storyline. I liked how the story went along. The pair sharing more than they realise and have been unknowingly crossing paths. Fate or coincidence? Depends what you believe. Great story and I'm excited for more

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Barbra Lazzarini
  • Barbra Lazzarini
  • 05-12-22

Beautiful ❤️‍🔥❤️‍🔥

Love these two and I love their so call family who are hilarious 😆 . Two broken soul who found each other. Who healed each other. Who found their happiness . Awesome ❤️‍🔥❤️‍🔥❤️‍🔥❤️‍🔥❤️‍🔥❤️‍🔥

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 16-12-22

Another Touchdown!

Ilsa Madden-Mills has once again moved us with realistic, thought provoking and emotionally stirring characters in a story that you simply cannot pause or put down. Highly anticipated and always looking forward to her next instalment, readers gain motivation, inspiration and a desire to emanate her kick ass female and bad ass male characters. Love your work Ms Madden-Mills.