Get Your Free Audiobook

After 30 days, Audible is ₹199/mo. Cancel anytime.

OR

Publisher's Summary

'PS: thanks for the murders.'

The death of a 90-year-old woman with a heart condition should absolutely not be suspicious. DS Harbinder Kaur certainly sees nothing to concern her in carer Natalka's account of Peggy Smith's death. 

But when Natalka reveals that Peggy lied about her heart condition and that she had been sure someone was following her...and that Peggy Smith had been a 'murder consultant' who plotted deaths for authors and knew more about murder than anyone has any right to...and when clearing out Peggy's flat ends in Natalka being held at gunpoint by a masked figure...well then DS Harbinder Kaur thinks that maybe there is no such thing as an unsuspicious death after all.

From the sleepy seaside town of Shoreham, to the granite streets of Edinburgh and the shores of Lake Baikal, The Postscript Murders is a literary mystery for fans of Antony Horowitz, Agatha Christie and anyone who's ever wondered just how authors think up such realistic crimes....

PS: trust no one.

©2020 Elly Griffiths (P)2020 Quercus Editions Limited

What listeners say about The Postscript Murders

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • SandraL
  • 02-10-20

Quirky Cosy Mystery

This second book in the DS Harbinder Kaur series is completely different to the first in the series, The Stranger Diaries, which was one of my top listens of 2019. This is much more of a cosy crime than TSD, which was quite gothic in tone. In fact it is so different that you really don't need to read that to enjoy this one. The book, set in Shoreham-by-Sea, begins with the death of 90 year old Peggy, who, we soon find out, is a murder consultant. I think that could be my dream job 😅 Peggy's Ukrainian carer, Natalka, believes the death is suspicious and reports her worries to the police. Soon Natalka has joined forces with Peggy's 80 year old neighbour Edwin (a retired, gay BBC producer) and Benedict (an ex monk who runs a seafront coffee shack) to investigate. It is very well written and excellently plotted with plenty of red herrings and a couple of surprising twists near the end. There is plenty of humour too, often aimed at the crime writing community. Ellie Griffiths writes excellent characters. I love Harbinder Kaur, a gay Sikh police sergeant in her 30s who still lives with her parents. I love her mum too and the family dynamics. Natalka, Benny and Edwin are all beautifully written and I loved the way these very different characters forged a friendship. I enjoyed the narration by Nina Wadia.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Talbot
  • 06-10-20

heading

Not my favourite Elly Griffiths book the characters didn't stand out and I lost interest in the plot.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 16-10-20

Not as I was expecting

I am a massive fan of Elly Griffiths books but this one just wasn’t, for me, as good as her previous ones.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Helly
  • 06-10-20

Cosier than expected

I did enjoy the story but I was expecting something darker. The story has a more leisurely, sunday-afternoon feel to it. A good story, and nice characters. Went on a bit too long for me.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • deborah s
  • 02-11-20

Excellent

I enjoyed this book very much. The characters are perfect with all their different backgrounds and the storyline is addictive. It was read beautifully. I would like a second book with all the same people in it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 28-10-20

A cosy read

Loved it, I like the character of Harbinder, I hope we will see more of her ("imagine living with a character for that long"). Well narrated. Very enjoyable.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • koopasdaddy
  • 10-10-20

Could not get involved

Started promising but went flat. Unable to finish this one as it sent me to sleep most times I tried it. Seen it described as cosy but cosy is not synonymous with dull.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • francine r.
  • 08-10-20

Dull

I struggled from the beginning. Dull as dish water, gave up after 24 chapters as nothing seemed to be happening. I love the Ruth Ellis mysteries by elly Griffiths but I just cannot get into this other series of books. I liked the narrator, she is good, just a protracted dull story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Mellonclan
  • 22-11-20

entertaining listen

the story is a little contrived but is still very entertaining. the scottish accent from the narrator isnt very good but it doesnt matter. I enjoyed the book but prefer the Ruth Galloway series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Molly W
  • 18-11-20

Excellent

I’ve read lots of Elly Griffiths’ books and this has been my favourite so far. She seems to explore the characters in more depth in the Harbinder Kaur series which I like. I loved the motley crew of characters in this book. Great story. Nina Wadia’s narration is superb and really brings the story to life. She’s able to do accents really well (and there are lots of them here). Really enjoyed this book!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Bonita N. Jones
  • 19-10-20

Next one please....

This was a bit of a slow burn for me but I got into it by chapter 5. I now can't wait for more Harbinder. Also loved The Stranger Diaries

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Jeanette NORMAN
  • 02-10-20

100% Disappointing

l was looking forward to a new story line from Ellie Griffiths but how disappointing. I was unable to read more than 2 Chapters. Nothing worked for me at all.