Get Your Free Audiobook

After 30 days, Audible is ₹199/mo. Cancel anytime.

OR

Publisher's Summary

From number-one best-selling author Melissa de la Cruz comes the heart-pounding follow-up to The Queen's Assassin, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black.

Lilac's birthright makes her the Queen of Renovia, and a forced marriage made her the Queen of Montrice. But being a ruler does not mean making the rules. For Lilac, taking the throne means giving up the opportunity to be with love of her life, the kingdom's assassin, Caledon Holt. 

Worse, Cal is forced to leave the castle when a horrific set of magical attacks threatens Lilac's sovereignty. Now Cal and Lilac will have to battle dark forces separately, even though being together is the only thing that's ever saved them.  

In the riveting conclusion to Melissa De La Cruz's fantasy duet, love, and magic are at war, and victory rests on a knife's edge.

©2021 Melissa de la Cruz (P)2021 Listening Library

What listeners say about The Queen's Secret

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Rebekah
  • 11-04-21

bored

this story really wasn't worth the read i was bored the whole time and even stopped reading twice.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Halle
  • 31-03-21

Review

Struggled to finish. Story was slow and the events happening seemed far-fetched. Enjoyed the first book much better. Shadow in this book didn't align with her character in the first book (independent, self-sufficient, clever) she's preoccupied being lovesick and wallowing. That being said, the imagery of the ending being 'in the shadows' was nicely done.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 31-03-21

Not as good as the first

Was not impressed.. it drove me mad that lilac constantly talked about her Queen duties and what is required from her, yet she never follows through. Either renounce your title and live your life or do you duties. Don’t talk about it, be about it.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Cami L
  • 05-03-21

Bothersome beginning-Updated

The beginning chapters are frustrating. Only about a year has passed since the point where the last book left off but Lilac keeps making it sound like years have passed. She is jealous of a "younger" girl (like she's so ancient?) and she talks about how she isn't in her prime anymore. WHAT?! She continuously makes it sound like 20years have passed with all her complaining.
Maybe I'm overreacting but it's so annoying that I'm having trouble getting into this one.

I'm only 7chapters in so I will update my rating/review when I finish.

UPDATE:
Weeks later and I can't bring myself to come back to this book so I'm going to try to get a refund for it. I enjoy other books by this author, this one was just a big miss for me.