Get Your Free Audiobook

  • The Spider Network

  • The Wild Story of a Maths Genius, a Gang of Backstabbing Bankers, and One of the Greatest Scams in Financial History
  • Written by: David Enrich
  • Narrated by: Mike Chamberlain
  • Length: 15 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Biographies & Memoirs, True Crime
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (11 ratings)

Listen with Audible free trial

₹199.00/month

1 credit a month to use on any title to download and keep
Listen to anything from the Plus Catalogue—thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks
Download titles to your library and listen offline
₹199 per month after 30-day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for ₹683.00

Buy Now for ₹683.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice.

Publisher's Summary

Short-listed for the Financial Times Business Book of the Year 

Random House presents the audiobook edition of The Spider Network by David Enrich, read by Mike Chamberlain. 

The Spider Network is the almost unbelievable and darkly entertaining inside account of the Libor scandal - one of the biggest, farthest reaching financial scams since the global financial crisis - written by the only journalist with access to Tom Hayes before he was sentenced to 14 years in prison. Full of exclusive details, and with ramifications that stretch right across the British establishment, this is a gripping, real-life story of outlandish characters and reckless greed in the City of London. 

By turns a rollicking account of the scandal and also a provocative examination of a financial system that was crooked throughout, The Spider Network is a perfect listen for fans of The Wolf of Wall Street and The Big Short

©2017 David Enrich (P)2017 Random House Audiobooks

Critic Reviews

"Will snare you in its web of deceit. A brilliant investigative exposé." (Harlan Coben, best-selling thriller author)

"Reads like a fast-paced John le Carré thriller, and never lets up." (New York Times book review)

What listeners say about The Spider Network

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • P.D.TZEREFOS
  • 06-10-19

intriguing story good narrator

if you are into financial crime stories you'll like this book.

the narrator is excellent and the story flows.

recommend

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Dubai_Paul
  • 02-05-17

dreary novel in a romantic style

What would have made The Spider Network better?

The FACTS get on with it! The flowery novel love story details are not required. I dont care!

What was most disappointing about David Enrich’s story?

Gave up on chapter 7. Dragging out the dreary details of peripheral tittle tattle is best left to pulp fiction

How did the narrator detract from the book?

One could tell he was also bored reading it

What character would you cut from The Spider Network?

Dont know

Any additional comments?

I am primarily a non fiction reader. If I read a finance book on a scam I want to know about the scam the technical details, what was done, what made them undone. I dont care what wine was drunk at a bar. I dont care about girlfriends I dont care about difficult childhoods.
I think other readers will be impressed I endured to chapter 7. I have no idea how the scam was done I cannot go on.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • mr lindsay r williams
  • 16-05-17

Almost comical wooden delivery by the narrator

Almost comical wooden delivery by the narrator really spoiled it for me I'm afraid to say

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 11-05-19

Interesting - but dry at points

The start and end of the book are a fascinating look at the LIBOR scandal and those involved. Keep in mind though that there are long, dry periods which are a struggle to get through. It is worth doing so but a few chapters in the middle really tested if I wanted to finish it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Julia
  • 19-01-22

Brilliant in capturing it all

Absolutely gripping, covering character and nuance sensitively - I could not stop listening and loved it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • kingfrederik
  • 03-09-21

brilliant narration of a great book

as someone with a family member who has autism, i really felt for Hayes throughout the book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KRai
  • 04-04-21

Definitely recommend it!

Had to stop and start it a few times but that was because of my schedule! But the story line was great, like ozarks, I learnt a lot from the book and the world of finance!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • HBombs
  • 10-03-21

Only just started listening but..

This narrator’s delivery is appalling and does a massive disservice to what is probably a great book.

He reads as if he’s shouting directions at a passing motorist.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Fred
  • 16-09-20

Phenomenal book

Couldn't stop listening to this remarkable story. Beautifully told with a dry sense of humour. A must read.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jack
  • 08-08-20

Hard to get through

Narrator and text are incredibly American. Very hard to listen to. Story is interesting

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rick Da-Ruler
  • 11-01-20

loved it

this was a really good book interesting to see how events folded I wish it didn't finish

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-11-19

This guys voice! Urgh.

Seems like a really interesting story but I couldn't deal with this guy's voice. It sounds like a simpsons character. Lesson learned - listen to samples to see if you can deal with listening to someone for 15+ hours.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 07-03-19

It is compelling

Some information is technical in nature, but the writer does a good job of explaining the terms. Wow, the money thrown away by these people - it's beyond belief. The people involved are portrayed really well in this book and I am quite intrigued by the story.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Robert Barwick
  • 11-12-18

Yet another tale of a scapegoat

This book will make you feel sorry for the supposed mastermind of Libor-rigging, not because he wasn't a crook (although whether he realised it is debatable), but because he was made the scapegoat to protect top executives at some of the world's most powerful banks.