Get Your Free Audiobook

After 30 days, Audible is ₹199/mo. Cancel anytime.

OR

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Ruta Sepetys, this sweet, summery romance set in Nantucket follows 17-year-old Abby Schoenberg as she uncovers a secret about her grandmother's life during WWII.

Seventeen-year-old Abby Schoenberg isn't exactly looking forward to the summer before her senior year. She's just broken up with her first boyfriend, and her friends are all off in different, exciting directions for the next three months. Abby needs a plan - an adventure of her own. Enter: the letters. 

They show up one rainy day along with the rest of Abby's recently deceased grandmother's possessions. And these aren't any old letters; they're love letters. Love letters from a mystery man named Edward. Love letters from a mansion on Nantucket. Abby doesn't know much about her grandmother's past. She knows she was born in Germany and moved to the US when she was five, fleeing the Holocaust. But the details are either hazy or nonexistent; and these letters depict a life that is a bit different than the quiet one Abby knows about.

And so, Abby heads to Nantucket for the summer to learn more about her grandmother and the secrets she kept. But when she meets Edward's handsome grandson, who wants to stop her from investigating, things get complicated. As Abby and Noah grow closer, the mysteries in their families deepen, and they discover that they both have to accept the burdens of their pasts if they want the kinds of futures they've always imagined. 

©2021 Hannah Reynolds (P)2021 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

The Summer of Lost Letters by Hannah Reynolds is an absolute gem. It’s a story full of love, family, and secrets, told with humor and wisdom. I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough. Spend a perfect Nantucket summer with The Summer of Lost Letters.” (Nancy Thayer, best-selling author of Family Reunion)

“A charming and romantic story of family secrets and buried history, The Summer of Lost Letters wonderfully captures the sun-soaked salt-air days of New England summers and the crackling anticipation of first love. This is the perfect summer read!” (Cameron Lund, author of The Best Laid Plans)

“The dialogue bubbles with wit (think Gilmore Girls), the Nantucket setting gives a gorgeous backdrop, and the book leans into improbable serendipity with irresistible glee. A breezy read to toss into the beach bag for a long summer day.” (BCCB)

What listeners say about The Summer of Lost Letters

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • AKA1
  • 09-07-21

Excellent listen

Feel good book that deals with difficult topics. I do think that at times the young characters seemed more mature than their ages. Nevertheless I recommend this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jennifer J. Farrand
  • 01-07-21

Loved

This book, while fiction, told the story of a teenage girl finding out more about her grandmother who was sent to the US during WWII for her safety. It chronicles her discoveries, her amazing summer on beautiful Nantucket, and the joys and heartache of falling in love. I highly recommend it!