Get Your Free Audiobook

1 credit a month to use on any title to download and keep
Listen to anything from the Plus Catalogue—thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks
Download titles to your library and listen offline
Limited time offer: 2 months free trial
The Union cover art

The Union

Written by: Leah Vernon
Narrated by: Alaska Jackson,Sisi Aisha Johnson,Kirby Heyborne
Free with trial

₹199 per month after 30-day trial. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for ₹1,008.00

Buy Now for ₹1,008.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice.

Publisher's Summary

From author and body-positive activist Leah Vernon comes a daring dystopian novel that explores the power of friendship in a future society built on violence and division.

A thousand years in the future, a Black elite class reigns. The lower classes toil in the fields or scrape by in blighted cities, serving their rulers in a cruel, divided world.

Among the Elites is eighteen-year-old Avi Jore, born to a powerful father and destined to rule. But as she comes of age, Avi cannot help but notice the injustices in her world—the treatment of enslaved workers, the oppression of the lower classes. Her disillusionment grows when she meets Saige Wilde, a mixed-race enslaved girl whose only goal is escaping beyond the borders of their brutal nation.

When Saige saves Avi from an assassination attempt, their paths become intertwined in ways they never imagined. As Saige plots her path to freedom, Avi tries to enact change from the inside. But it’s a complicated endeavor, fraught with danger and malice.

Together, their efforts could spark a revolution—and underscore the staggering power of friendship.

Publisher Note: This title was previously self-published as Impure. This edition of The Union includes substantial editorial revisions.

©2022 Leah Vernon (P)2022 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. Previously self-published as Impure by author in 2016

Critic Reviews

“A thought-provoking dystopian novel…,. Readers will find it easy to invest in Vernon’s complex political tale.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Fans of Justina Ireland and N. K. Jemisin will appreciate the innovative world building from a Black perspective and the well-developed characters used to present serious topics such as racism and privilege.” (Booklist)

What listeners say about The Union

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile image for rashidas mama
  • rashidas mama
  • 06-01-23

Great listening!

Just the right amount of science fiction fantasy that I live for the story was great I loved the characters! and how they reflect the colors of my world as dystopian as the writer made me see it! Hopefully there will be a part two!