The Kingsbridge Novels

4 titles in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 26 ratings

The Pillars of the Earth Publisher's Summary

A spellbinding epic tale of ambition, anarchy, and absolute power set against the sprawling medieval canvas of 12th-century England, this is Ken Follett's classic historical masterpiece. 

The Pillars of the Earth tells the story of Philip, prior of Kingsbridge, a devout and resourceful monk driven to build the greatest Gothic cathedral the world has known...of Tom, the mason who becomes his architect - a man divided in his soul...of the beautiful, elusive Lady Aliena, haunted by a secret shame...and of a struggle between good and evil that will turn church against state and brother against brother. 

The Pillars of the Earth is followed by World Without End and A Column of Fire

©1989 Ken Follett (P)2007 Penguin US
Show More Show Less