Get Your Free Audiobook

After 30 days, Audible is ₹199/mo. Cancel anytime.

OR

Publisher's Summary

It has been thousands of years since beast-kind were united under one banner. The empire encompasses most of the known world, driving out or enslaving the lesser races without mercy. In a state of constant war and conquest, they have perfected the art of battle.

For commoner wolf-kind Valian, being accepted and trained in a noble house's army was a dream come true. Without wealth or a family, it was his best shot at attaining honor and glory. Until fate intervened.

When, on his graduation day, Valian discovers he's descended from an ancient and long-thought-extinct line, everything changes. Now, he'll have to come to terms with his newfound strength while joining a world he has never known. If the threat of his fellow beast-kind wasn't enough, a new danger has awoken on the empire's eastern border.

If Valian doesn't rise to the occasion, more than just his own life may be lost.

Fans of Throne of Glass and Sword of Truth will enjoy the dynamic combination of magic and action in Evans’ new series, Alpha Rising. Dark Wolf's Awakening is the debut novel in the fast-paced epic fantasy series that introduces listeners to a savage world ruled by shape-shifters and the beast within.

©2018 Ryan Evans (P)2020 Podium Audio

What listeners say about Dark Wolf's Awakening

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Martha A.
  • 09-11-20

Not sure why so many people like this one

Lots of new authors seem to be falling into bad habits like Mr. Evans has here.

Before the negative here is several positives
1. Interesting concept with the beast-kin thing. It seems like it could be something that could have turned into something really interesting
2. A few moments where the writing wasn't too bad. What I mean by this is some of the sentences are things people might actually say. I know that sounds like I am criticizing it and I am, but I think some of things he has the character's say are pretty good.

Alright, bad stuff. . .
1. So so soooo soooo much telling and ALMOST no showing. like every scene he just tells us what happened. "She talked about her past," what did she say? That could have been an awesome character building scene. There are so many moments where he just tells us something happened and we have are not able to draw our own conclusions.

2. This may be too harsh, but using words like appears, or he obviously was, things like that sorta tell us about how this person appeared to be. "The tension appeared to leave" Why say that? It is lazy, you could have said my shoulders relaxed and I could see a hesitant smile creeping across my best friends face. Man, I got to see that instead of hearing about it. I am ranting, but this is actually what it is like.

3. One thing I really think was the most lazy thing the author could have done in this book was where this book started. So much story was not seen and character building just wasn't there, then suddenly he completely changes? What is that about? A present one moment and king of the world the next??????? Why would you do that? A continual rule for any MC is that as an author you have the duty to beat the crap out of them and have them come back over and over and fail most of the time, but when they succeed it's awesome. You can do it the other way, where they basically can't fail, like a one punch man or something, but even in that they fail. It makes for a boring story when they get everything and nothing goes wrong and they have to think for a moment and figure something out. It is lazy.

I have more, but I think I should stop. Keep the credit, or don't and feel my pain.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Scott Kelley
  • 15-08-20

oh you suck

Great first book and was thinking of stopping instead of listening to the preview. I should have done that but instead I listened and now emotions are running and I really want to finish book two but no it's not out yet. This is going to suck waiting for it's release.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Blake M
  • 24-07-20

Surprised!

The story started off interesting and ramped up into something really fun and action packed, and made me root for the MC.

The one thing I think some won't like, even though I did, is the OP Marty Sue nature of the MC.

Great performance on the audio side of things! I'll be looking for more of his work.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 26-09-20

Very Good

It's very good. Now to fill out the minimum 15 words so I can leave.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Waggs Wolf
  • 23-11-20

Young Beastkin battles his world and himself

This was a really solid tale of one young orphan's struggle in a society of beastkin, were-creatures, as he discovers he's from a long lost family line known and feared for their strength and brutality. The newly awakened powers and emotions that he now has to deal with along with the political baggage of being from an extinct line of rulers whom opposed the current rulers, created an excellent backdrop to this story of an entry of an unsuspecting hero into the ruling class of society all the while the kingdom faces a new threat that may well be as much from within as from without.

This universe seems well thought out and developed, with many moving pieces and solid action. I enjoyed it a lot and even re-read the book in anticipation of the sequel. It was just as enjoyable the second time through which is high praise coming from me.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Kevin morgan
  • 23-09-20

Too Easy!

I enjoyed the story, but felt it was a little rushed. The MC seemed to jump from rags to riches too soon with little effort.
Maybe this would have been possible or even plausible in the society he inhabited. Had we know a little more of his background, abilities and the culture of beast kind this may have been more believable.
Such a shame because the premise for the story was really interesting and intriguing.
Having said all that I am still considering purchasing the second book in the series hoping it will go into more depth.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 01-10-20

Good one

i was pleasantly surprised with this one its a new spin tp the normal beastkin stories and can't wait for the next book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 18-09-20

awesome

loved it, if you a fan of werewolves or lycanthropy definitely check it out.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Robert g Knox
  • 17-08-20

This is a surprisingly underrated book

I normally don’t rate books but I felt this one deserved it, both the story and the narration where excellent.
Enough intrigue to make you think and action to keep you interested. Truly one of the most enjoyable I have listened to.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-01-21

must read.

kick ass awesome storyline werewolf what more do you really need a kick ass horse

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 23-07-20

Love love love it

Absolutely loved this book! And can't wait for the next one to come out! 😍