Get Your Free Audiobook

The Murder Mile

Written by: Lesley McEvoy
Narrated by: Anna Cordell
Length: 8 hrs and 43 mins

After 30 days, Audible is ₹199/mo. Cancel anytime.

OR

Publisher's Summary

The Murder Mile is Lesley McEvoy's unmissable debut. A suspenseful mystery thriller, it will appeal to fans of Kathy Reichs, Teresa Driscoll, Cara Hunter and D. S. Butler.

Jo was the last person to see Martha Scott alive. She was helping Martha unlock a repressed memory. But during the session, Jo unlocked more than she bargained for. An alter personality introduced himself as the reincarnation of Jack the Ripper - and thanked Jo for setting him free to kill again. 

As Ferguson’s team race to find Martha’s killer, a series of copycat killings begin, replicating ‘The Autumn of Terror’ in 1888. But if Jack is just a figment of Martha’s damaged mind, who killed her? 

As the body count rises, Jo must construct a profile to stop the murderer re-creating the terror of the most infamous serial killer of all time. And as the anniversary of the final and most gruesome of all the killings looms, Jo discovers that the killer has one murder on his mind that is far closer to home....

©2019 Lesley McEvoy (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

What members say

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • lindajones
  • 18-11-19

What a fantastic story. Recommended.

I thoroughly enjoyed this story. I particularly enjoyed the fact that it was in short chapters as I like to get to the end of a chapter before I can stop it (same with a book). The narrator was excellent and brought the story to life. The characters were good and there were twists and turns. I will look for other items now written by Lesley McEvoy but this is one story I will listen to over and over. I tend to read a lot about Jack the Ripper too so this is what attracted me to this story. Well done to the author and narrator.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • A Barrett
  • 02-11-19

Jack's Back!

Excellent novel!

No wonder Ian Rankin has been posting rave reviews about this book on his Twitter! It's brilliant!

This novel beats many novels from well established authors, hands down.

Thoroughly enjoyable. Great characters, Excellent plot, and the fictitious city of Fordley is a far more believable facsimile of Bradford than Val McDermid ever managed.

Brilliant first novel from a great writer.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Fee
  • 03-04-20

Entertaining

Well written and narrated. Another spin an old story which I won’t mention in case it’s a spoiler!

It’s quite similar to the Tony Hill series by Val McDermid though in that the female is the police officer.

My only issue was that Jo was often rather immature in her behaviour, like a stroppy teenager.

All together, enjoyable.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • E. Maxwell
  • 01-04-20

WOW! SUPERB DEBUT BOOK

I never know what to expect with debut authors but the storyline drew me in, and wow what a story. A refreshingly original plot, well researched and superbly written, really kept me guessing almost to the end. The atmosphere and characters of The Murder Mile were enhanced by the narration of Anna Cordell perfect casting. I can't praise this book enough, please can we have more. Highly recommended