Get Your Free Audiobook

Wrong Way Home

Written by: Isabelle Grey
Narrated by: Melody Grove
Length: 10 hrs and 8 mins

After 30 days, Audible is ₹199/mo. Cancel anytime.

OR

Publisher's Summary

Sarah Hilary calls Isabelle Grey's books 'compelling and compassionate'. A must-listen for fans of Susie Steiner, Clare Mackintosh, Serial, Making a Murderer and S-Town.

A cold case leads DI Grace Fisher on the hunt for the most dangerous killer of her career - but after 25 years, can she really be sure she will get to the truth?

The same night a local hero saved two people from the burning Marineland resort in Southend, a young woman was raped and murdered minutes from the scene of the fire, the culmination of a series of brutal rapes in the town. The killer was never found.

Twenty-five years on, new DNA techniques have blown the cold case open. DI Grace Fisher relishes the prospect of finally catching the culprit, but when the evidence doesn't point to one clear suspect, she must reconstruct the original investigation. Any suggestion that the Essex force was less than thorough at the time could alienate her colleagues and destroy her chances of reaching the truth.

Grace finds her investigation shadowed by a young true-crime podcaster backed by veteran crime reporter Ivo Sweatman. As pressure mounts she cannot afford to be distracted. She knows that a cold-blooded killer is slowly being backed into a corner, and a cornered predator is often the most dangerous of all....

©2018 Isabelle Grey (P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Critic Reviews

"Sympathetic and suspense-packed." (Sunday Times

"A classy, satisfying read, superbly put together." (Mari Hannah) 

What members say

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cathryn B.
  • 10-07-18

Excellent

Another excellent book by Isabelle Grey. Brilliant story which kept on and on. Very well narrated.

26 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sandy mg
  • 24-10-18

Enjoyable

Although as other reviews have said this is a whodunnit that is fairly easy to guess whodidit!! However I still enjoyed it and the narration is excellent

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • nought
  • 17-11-18

Who did it

Really good story with many twists and turns
Very well written narration very good
And well read

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Julie
  • 31-10-18

Expertly written

Just when I thought Isabelle Grey's books couldn't get any better along comes the next brilliant book. What a great crime book, love the charectors: Grace, Blake & Ivo.
Cannot wait for the next one.
Expertly Narrated too.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Freckles
  • 28-10-18

Great crime series

I really enjoy this series and this book was no exception. There was a sinister subplot, but that finished before it got too much for me. Looking forward to the next one.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • RP P.
  • 28-09-18

25yrs ago fire mystery book

Good movement through the years and great narration. Ok story line - not that capturing - too many threads to hold together - not believable for some reason

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Clairerio
  • 28-09-18

Really enjoyed it.

one of the better audiobooks I've heard, didn't want it to end. Although I guessed the main 'perpetrator' very early on there was enough in it to keep me listening. I felt the author really built up the main characters so you get to know them.
The narrators voice was perfect, giving emphasis in exactly the right places. could listen to her all day.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Dorothy
  • 28-09-18

So-So story made worse by narration

Having listened to a lot of audiobooks, I know how much difference the narration makes to one's overall response to the books. This book was fairly run of the mill, but was made more tedious by the narrator. To make matters worse, she didn't know how to pronounce sub judice. Surely when an audiobook is made, someone should listen to the whole performance to check for mistakes, in the same way that a proof reader would check for written errors.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • gill stow
  • 16-12-18

good story shame about the performance

very disappointing performance, one of the most boring narrators its been my misfortune to come across. Probably worth reading the second book in the series in print as the series looks to have potential.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • eddy
  • 18-10-18

super

brilliantly narrated, brilliant story although it becomes a bit obvious halfway through.
but it gets hold of you and won't let go

1 person found this helpful