Get Your Free Audiobook

  • The Dragon Warrior

  • Written by: Katie Zhao
  • Narrated by: Siu-see Hung
  • Length: 8 hrs and 10 mins
  • 4.0 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

Prime logo New to Audible Prime Member exclusive:
2 credits with free trial
1 credit a month to use on any title to download and keep
Listen to anything from the Plus Catalogue—thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks
Download titles to your library and listen offline
₹199 per month after 30-day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Dragon Warrior cover art

The Dragon Warrior

Written by: Katie Zhao
Narrated by: Siu-see Hung
Free with 30-day trial

₹199 per month after 30-day trial. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for ₹683.00

Buy Now for ₹683.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice.

Publisher's Summary

Bloomsbury presents The Dragon Warrior by Katie Zhao, read by Siu-see Hung.

A debut novel inspired by Chinese mythology, this middle-grade fantasy follows an outcast as she embarks on a quest to save the world from demons - perfect for fans of Aru Shah and the End of Time and The Serpent’s Secret.

As a member of the Jade Society, 12-year-old Faryn Liu dreams of honoring her family and the gods by becoming a warrior. But the society has shunned Faryn and her brother Alex ever since their father disappeared years ago, forcing them to train in secret.

Then, during an errand into San Francisco, Faryn stumbles into a battle with a demon - and helps defeat it. She just might be the fabled Heaven Breaker, a powerful warrior meant to work for the all-mighty deity, the Jade Emperor, by commanding an army of dragons to defeat the demons. That is, if she can prove her worth and find the island of the immortals before the Lunar New Year.

With Alex and other unlikely allies at her side, Faryn sets off on a daring quest across Chinatowns. But becoming the Heaven Breaker will require more sacrifices than she first realised.... What will Faryn be willing to give up to claim her destiny?

This richly woven contemporary middle-grade fantasy debut, full of humor, magic and heart, will appeal to fans of Roshani Chokshi and Sayantani DasGupta.

©2019 Katie Zhao (P)2019 Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

Critic Reviews

"In this page-turning debut, Zhao weaves an exhilarating tale that shimmers with adventure, love, and loyalty. Readers will be enthralled up to the incredible and absolutely breathless end." (J. C. Cervantes, New York Times best-selling author of The Storm Runner)

"Zhao’s impressive and captivating debut adventure novel brings mythology and magic to life [...] an ideal choice for fans of Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series and Roshani Chokshi’s Aru Shah and the End of Time." (Kirkus, starred review)

More from the same

What listeners say about The Dragon Warrior

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great narration!

An entertaining middle school fantasy with an Asian background. Enjoyed it thoroughly. The narration is awesome too!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!