Get Your Free Audiobook

1 credit a month to use on any title to download and keep
Listen to anything from the Plus Catalogue—thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks
Download titles to your library and listen offline
₹199 per month after 30-day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for ₹323.00

Buy Now for ₹323.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice.

Publisher's Summary

Evoking the golden age of crime, and for fans of Raymond Chandler and Agatha Christie, comes A Gambling Man, from one of the world’s best-selling thriller writers, David Baldacci.

A lucky roll of the dice.

California, 1949. Aloysius Archer is on his way to start a new job with a renowned private investigator in Bay Town. Feeling lucky, he stops off at a casino in Reno, where he meets an aspiring actress, Liberty Callahan. Together, they head west on a journey filled with danger and surprises—because Archer isn’t the only one with a secretive past.

A risk worth taking.

Arriving in a town rife with corruption, Archer is tasked with finding out who is doing everything they can to disrupt the appointment of a top official. Then two seemingly unconnected people are murdered at a burlesque club. In a tight-lipped community, Archer must dig deep to reveal the connection between the victims.  

All bets are off.

As the final perilous showdown unfurls, Archer will need all of his skills to decipher the truth from the lies and finally, to prove she’s a star in the making, will Liberty have her moment in the spotlight?

A Gambling Man is the second historical crime novel in David Baldacci’s Private Investigator Archer series, following the Sunday Times top five best seller One Good Deed. 

©2021 David Baldacci (P)2021 Hachette Audio

What listeners say about A Gambling Man

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable and Suspenseful Read

A top-notch thriller in the second of the Aloysius Archer series by David Baldacci. In a quest for sustainable living, the protagonist en route to California takes a short stint in a small town of Reno, wherein he pairs up with an aspiring actress and takes possession of a vintage Delahaye convertible. On the way, they have a brief encounter with some local goons. His first assignment in California as an apprentice with one PI Willie Dash is a politically stirred up blackmail involving a well-connected businessman cum politician running for the post of mayor. The protagonist is confronted with a series of killings related to the blackmailing case that leaves him no clues to apprehend the perpetrator. However, his astute demeanor and indomitable temperament leads to a small crack in the case file, through which he percolates and starts to unravel a heinous web of secrets involving gambling, brothels, and thirst for power. What follows next is a meticulous sleuthing by the duo of Archer and Dash to unmask the mastermind behind this scandalous saga only to unearth some more skeletons from the closet. In this investigation, he is assisted and supported by his new lady companion who takes up a job in a bar in the same town. The protagonist, Archer is a man of principle, and from his unfortunate past has learned to be more receptive to the challenges to lead a respectable life in the new town. An exceptionally enjoyable and suspenseful read. A must-read for thriller buffs.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • orly
  • 25-05-21

great one !

one little think - there is no need for the "he said"/"she said" in an audio book :)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anon
  • 21-04-21

Gumshoe Delight

I’m sad that this book is at an end. Such wonderful, lucid writing that brings not only people but also inanimate objects to life. Rich and sumptuous to the very last. A true trip back in time that I thoroughly recommend any potential reader! Can’t wait for the next instalment.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ANN OLDFIELD
  • 17-04-21

Better than the first one even

I found the first one really fascinating but with this one I would have loved to be able to give a 5+. Hoping for a third book sonner rather than later. Love the characters and the "scenery"

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rachel Callinan
  • 14-05-21

Great book, outstanding narration.

A special word for Edoardo Ballerini who is one of the best narrators I've heard.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • mrs.d
  • 28-04-21

Not great

This had that sloppy formulaic ghost written feel - macho man beats up thugs (who aren’t in it long enough for it to be satisfying pay back). Two dimensional women are impressed by him for nothing much. Kind of like very boring bad Jack Reacher.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • TonyofCornwall
  • 04-07-22

Throughly enjoyable

Great characters, believable story, superbly written and narrated in a style befitting of the time. Absolutely recommended

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • marcus
  • 21-04-22

not as good the first

nowhere near as good as the first . good concept but not really a new idea .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 17-11-21

a well paced story.

a great story. Ms presley needs more variation in her repertoire of voices, but it didn't detract from the overall listening experience.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • kathy
  • 27-10-21

good story

Archer is a lot like Reacher. enjoyed the plot
the reader kept the pace goi g

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Catherine
  • 21-09-21

Gripping.

I found this book a very good follow on from the first. The main character “Archer” stayed true to his personality portrayed in the first of (hopefully) the series. Edoardo Ballerini reads beautifully, he did the female roles in the first book but in this book Brittany Presley did the female lead. She did this very well but I am used to just one reader and found this a distraction.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • LFP
  • 22-08-21

Took a while

It took quite a bit to get into the story and then suddenly I just didn’t want to stop listening. Excellent book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • SAMM
  • 21-08-21

Excellent read

Brilliant storytelling from the talented Badicci .Set in roughly 1950s era , it is , atmospheric , entertaining. and thoroughly enjoyable Would definitely recommend this book and love his character Archer in this new series .Superb

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 25-09-22

a struggle

average story line, really tedious start, and so many weak characters, it was difficult to remain focus

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Carl
  • 02-02-22

Love the old school 20s theme

Not too hard to see where the story goes but it's still fun and the performance is great

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mark Reynolds
  • 14-07-21

Great

Very entertaining story. Loved to listen rather than read. Look forward to hearing more about Archer and liberty.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • GGADS
  • 17-06-21

somewhat predictable with only a few twists

Perhaps I'm getting used to Baldacci and how he sets up his plots and storyline but I found it all a bit predictable.

The story wasn't as compelling as others but it was still a nice listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Phillip u
  • 15-05-21

Great book

Very addictive. Love the narrative view off gumshoe job. This book portrays Archer journey very well

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Grant
  • 10-05-21

We have a new hero in Archer

Archer is my new hero. It’s nice to know there were such bad guys back in the 50’s. I can’t wait until we have Archer’s next case.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Shalleycat
  • 09-05-21

Balducci Delivers Fifties Flashback

Balducci provides a twisting tale of intrigue with pill box hats. Pressley's voices lack variety.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • PAMELA RYAN
  • 30-04-21

Love Eduardo’s voice, but not when he goes yankie

Love all of Baldacci and have read them all! Am enjoying Archer, especially as I grew up during WW2, but in Australia.
Hope you write a third Aloysius